Fiction logo

Shooting Guernica

For Munson's Microfiction Challenge

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 27 days ago Updated 25 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Guernica (1937) by Pablo Picasso, at the Museo Reina Sofía in Madrid

The summer of my photography internship, studying at the Escuela Universitaria de Artes in Madrid, was a blur of soaring architecture, echoing galleries, dimly lit clubs, darkrooms, and dark-eyed Spanish artists. I was serious about learning my craft--especially with my parents' educational fund running out--but I also wanted to have fun.

What lay ahead for me, I knew, was taking pictures of antiques and heirlooms for auction catalogues. Negotiating with fussy studio owners over the proper lighting for their exhibition brochures. Visiting old money mansions and new money beach houses to document "priceless" artwork for insurance purposes. This was my last hurrah for enjoying art simply as art, rather than a career.

One of my final assignments was to take pictures for a booklet guide to the museums of Madrid. I could choose the pieces to highlight. I started with the elegant Museo Nacional Del Prado, the educational Museo de América, and the charmingly cluttered Museo Sorolla. My last stop I reserved for the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía. I was a big fan of Salvador Dalí, preferring surrealism over other 20th century movements. Staring at cubism gave me a headache.

But I knew I couldn't leave Picasso out of the guide, so toward the end of the day I lugged my camera equipment into the gallery of his works, intending to showcase one of his lesser-known works. But as I passed by Guernica -- the imposing occupant of an entire wall -- I thought I heard a cry.

I looked around for an infant, but the gallery was nearly empty. I started heading toward another painting and then heard the cry again, gutteral and coarse.

My eye was drawn to the figure of the woman at the left edge of the painting. Her head was thrown back in a desperate wail, as she held the limp body of her child, whose head flopped unnaturally down. Her larger-than-life agony was one tableau in a frenzied scene of violence, chaos and death.

I set up my camera and aimed it at the mother and child. My guts told me to highlight this one extraordinary segment, instead of capturing the whole piece. It was as if my camera was compelled by this woman. Everything about the shoot was perfect, from the framing to the lighting. I walked away in a daze.

That night, I dreamed I was standing before the painting. But it was alive--or rather, I was witness to so much death. The crash of the bombs. The smell of burnt flesh. The screams of the horse.

But where was the woman? I searched under fallen beams and behind burning barns. At last I heard her unmistakable, horrifying wail. She was crouched in a corner of a ruined building, cradling her child, her pale, limp babe.

"Can I take your picture?" I asked, camera in hand, as if I were a casual tourist. I had to repeat myself to be heard. Finally, she noticed me. She looked -- embarrassed. As if her grief and terror were an offense to polite company.

"My tears need a minute to find the edges of my face. If you'll please excuse me."

But they never fell. My camera snapped, and they were frozen on her face, forever.

~~

For Munson's Microfiction: My Tears Need A Minute

art

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • D.K. Shepard17 days ago

    Wow! This is stunning in both subject and composition! Wonderfully done!

  • Cathy holmes22 days ago

    Wow. This is fabulous. Great job on the challenge.

  • MelodyHadley23 days ago

    I was expecting that kind of response from your side, Thanks for sharing https://nifportugal.net/

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • Awesome writing, keep it up!

  • Kendall Defoe 25 days ago

    Quite powerful!

  • Great take on the challenge wonderfully evocative story

  • Linda Goodman25 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story

  • Ameer Bibi25 days ago

    Congratulations 🎊

  • Anu Mehjabin25 days ago

    Your narrative beautifully captures the intersection of art, emotion, and human experience. Well done! And congrats on your top story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Babs Iverson25 days ago

    Fantastic!!! You lulled me into your story!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • This is a winner amazing 👏👏👏💕💘💖💝💝💖💯

  • Paul Stewart25 days ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Andrea Corwin 26 days ago

    What a beautiful story - I loved how you wove a dream at the end and the required words and then - snapped a photo. 👏

  • John Cox26 days ago

    This is a wonderful and surreal story, part travelogue of an art lover and an imaginal dive into the Spanish civil war and its human consequences. Beautifully written and deeply felt.

  • Christy Munson27 days ago

    Out of objectivity I will say only that I enjoyed reading your piece and am delighted to have it as an entry for the microfiction challenge. More to come on the other side of judging.

  • Paul Stewart27 days ago

    Like...rushed to this the minute I say the title...as I used Guernica in one of my recent pompous pieces lol. This is beautiful and strange. Just, incredible work, Sonia!

  • D. J. Reddall27 days ago

    What a dexterous, inspired weaving together of the prompt and a suitably surreal, haunting scenario. This is excellent, and would win my vote in an instant!

  • shanmuga priya27 days ago

    I enjoyed your writing.

Sonia Heidi UnruhWritten by Sonia Heidi Unruh

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.