Poets logo

Unrequited

A lover holding on to another letting go

By Thomas HawkinsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Into the cold recesses of winter must all summers travel, live up the warmth

Your name on my lips at once to your ear To caress fingertips and see you more clear Your head on my chest or your hand inside mine With your life to be blessed, your lips stained as wine

A smile on your face meant only for me Secret lines to trace where no one can see A laugh from you filled with unhidden love The truest of truths are these things I've dreamt of

An unbound desire as the animals might One night by the fire, one joyous beautiful night To spell out your name in the lines of my days In you to see the same as clear becomes haze

To not have to lie, ever have to steal Forget how to cry and never need to heal To love you with joy and once more with pain To be your love, or just a toy; make me whole, or drive me insane

To give you the choice and to have you agree To give you my voice so that I become free If forever I had that you would be there Happy and sad, lost without a care

If only you wished on a star I'd found I pray only for this as I'm flying high, my feet on ground To speak of nothing and do so loudly Hold on to something and do so proudly

Giggling without cause, for no reason at all To dream without pause never need to call To rage in your grip and die in your bed Your taste on my lip your face in my head

To not feel so wrong or inside so bad To love you with song like the only I've had To shiver in your sight, quiver at your touch To hold you at night with dreams like butterflies, sunshine and such

To only be normal and do normal things Don't seem so horrible for now you've given me wings Like the light from above, the fire from below To fly as the white dove this thing I now know

I could write these for days and again for years You've set me ablaze now things are clearer But all of these wants shall never come true For we only have months and I don't have you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Thomas Hawkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.