Poets logo

Unrequited love

a sigh

By Moharif YuliantoPublished 20 days ago 2 min read
Unrequited love
Photo by Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

A name, a whisper on my lips, a sigh,

A constant echo in a silent sky.

Your laughter, music to a yearning ear,

But meant for others, never meant for here.

I watch you move, a sunbeam in the day,

Your smile ignites a warmth that melts away

The winter in my heart, a fleeting spark,

A cruel reminder of what's left in the dark.

We share conversations, light and free,

But hidden depths reside unseen by thee.

My gaze betrays the turmoil in my soul,

A silent plea that leaves you unaware and whole.

I paint a mask, a canvas bright and bold,

Of friendship's comfort, stories yet untold.

But jealousy, a serpent in my chest,

Coils tight, constricting, leaving me unblessed.

I watch you with another, hand in hand,

A silent scream trapped in this barren land.

Their whispered secrets, laughter light and sweet,

A bitter symphony, a love incomplete.

The urge to confess, a fire in my core,

But fear of rejection slams the bolted door.

Would friendship crumble, trust turn to disdain?

Silence holds me captive, a self-inflicted chain.

The world spins on, oblivious to my plight,

The sun still rises, casting morning's light.

But for me, the colors seem a shade less bright,

Haunted by a love that can never take flight.

I steal stolen glances, a bittersweet sting,

Memorizing details, the way your fingers cling

To a cup of coffee, the way your eyes alight

When passion ignites, but not for me tonight.

The nights are endless, thoughts a maddening chase,

Replaying moments, a love's desperate embrace

I long to hold, a fantasy unfurled,

Aching for a future that's a different world.

Perhaps someday, love will shift its course,

And fate will grant a love that's not a forced

Existence on the sidelines, watching you play,

Wishing for a chance to steal your heart away.

But reason whispers, a voice cold and clear,

Unrequited love, a path fraught with fear.

To move on, let go, a daunting, painful task,

But clinging to embers leaves only ash.

Is there a way to find a love unbound,

Where hearts connect, on common ground?

To mend the pieces, shattered by this plight,

And step into a future, bathed in love's own light?

The answer lies within, a choice to make,

To free myself from this love's bitter ache.

To build a fortress where my spirit thrives,

And seek a love that truly comes alive.

Though the road ahead may hold its share of tears,

Letting go may open doors to conquer fears.

For somewhere out there, a love awaits its call,

A love that sees me, embraces me, and has me all.

So with a trembling breath, I turn away,

From the echo of a love that won't stay.

The journey's long, but hope flickers anew,

To find a love that whispers, "I love you" too.

Elegy

About the Creator

Moharif Yulianto

a freelance writer and thesis preparation in his country, youtube content creator, facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran19 days ago

    This was so poignant and relatable. Loved it!

  • TheSpinstress20 days ago

    A wonderful take on unrequited love. I especially like "clinging to embers leaves only ash". Beautiful.

Moharif YuliantoWritten by Moharif Yulianto

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.