Poets logo

undead musings

*

By Heather HublerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
17
Created with NightCafeStudio

I don't have the energy to be me anymore.

There are needs and concerns,

worn-out excuses

and even more pressing issues,

wearing me out from day to day.

I think I've forgotten how to be still.

How to be happy.

My to-do list is a real prick,

and then along comes all the unexpected

garbage and stress, piling up and

blitzing my barely plausible plans

to get through the day.

I feel like a zombie on edge,

one that creaks and moans and groans.

And I definitely need to

eat some brains because

mine can't remember shit anymore.

The only 'me-time' I want in a day

is just to go to bed.

I should probably consume some better joints too

as mine ache so badly that

by the time I finally get under the covers,

they hurt and I'm ready to get up again.

I want off this merry-go-round

of endless, undead f*ckery.

But I can't, so...

I'll research the healthiest brains to eat and

how to be the best zombie I can be–

ah crap, my hands just fell off.

Whatever.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading my zombie nonsense :)

Mental HealthStream of Consciousness
17

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a month ago

    I feel like I need to eat some brains as well! It really is too bad we can't eat brains to gain energy, wisdom, and determination. Really love the concept of this poem, amazing work, as always, dear friend!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Fatigue certainly can make you feel like an Zombie. Just going around just trying to do stuff but your heart is not in it completely, very relatable. Glad you found humor in it. ☺️

  • Kenny Pennabout a month ago

    So glad I didn’t miss this jewel while I was away. Great poem Heather!

  • Caroline Janeabout a month ago

    Ah yeah. Feel this. I'd be reaching for my Zombie machine gun and annihilating my zombie creators. 🤣 Whites of the eyes time!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    I wanna share that meal with ya, even if I do have to spoon feed you due to the lack of hands thing. Just don't try eating my brain. You'd be super-fucked then.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Aw...pal...this is all too real...and you've cleverly disguised all that real anguish and stuff with hilarity. I mean...at face value it's a funny funny piece. Of course it is, you wrote it! But, yeah...it's also rather sad. Like Dharr. I hope you can get more "you time" soon or a holiday or a snowstorm or something :) If all else fails. donuts and croissants are a good substitute for brains...and steak is great too. Walnuts look like brains? You could also have haggis. Which is bloody delicious and kinda looks gross enough to pass for zombie fuel...even if it's extremely delicious. Anyway, I hope I've either put a smile on your face by the time you read this or grossed you out? Either/or is pretty well done by me. Chin up, lass. c'est bientôt une éclipse solaire, je suis sûr que certains fous pensent que si vous faites un vœu ou quelque chose comme ça quand c'est une éclipse solaire, votre fortune va changer. Soit cela, soit l’apocalypse zombie va s’accélérer !

  • Chloe Gilholyabout a month ago

    I connected to this cause I started watching the walking dead a lot lately.

  • They say that happens if you do too much..., well, you know. Oh, & that you'll go blind. And yes, I can most definitely identify, lol.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I think you need a vacation, my sweet looney partner. Just to be away from all life's responsibilities. It is possible for you to have one? Is there anything in the way?

  • JBazabout a month ago

    Love the ending, just when you had a plan I place all things go to shit.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Very relatable and very clever! The final lines made me laugh! Great piece, Heather!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    This is the stuff that belly laughs are made of Heather! Endless undead f*ckery is flat out hilarious and a great line to boot!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    Great poem and really cool picture too!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Entertaining read but it sounds like you are describing me!!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.