Poets logo

Unattached

inspired by the 'In Eclipse' challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
15
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

exquisite milky plumage, spine curved just so into an s

casting sultry shadows limned with

lime, a mating mambo

in medias res, plundered woefully at zenith.

petty lunar pageantry hanging

sun and stars in union, lone

egrets ruefully returned to rookery, unattached.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! I fell in love with the idea of writing a piece about how animals can be affected during a total solar eclipse, thinking nighttime has arrived. I ended up choosing the Great Egret (wonderful 'e' word) and began to explore their mating habits. We have lakes in my area that are home to this graceful bird, and I've always appreciated their beauty.

By Yue WU on Unsplash

~

Want to read more of my entries? Please take a look at the collection below:

nature poetryAcrostic
15

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor7 days ago

    Love the thinking behind this concept Heather, and there’s some excellent imagery in here, particularly “ruefully returned”. I had to look up what “limned” meant too! Great use of it👏🏾

  • Gina C.12 days ago

    What a stunning piece!! Your words are so gorgeous. I love the "spine curved" - what a lovely image it brings to my mind. 🥹❤️

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    I never thought about how nature might respond!

  • D.K. Shepard12 days ago

    Stunning! Great concept and word choice!

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    This is wonderful. Now I'm off to Google their mating dance. I'm not sure I've ever seen them around here.

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    Oh wow! Any one of these is a masterclass and more than evident of what a great writer and poet you are, Heather! I love this unqiue take on it...as I have thought about that...because we often get hung up on how eclipses and moon shifts affect us...when they have just much effect on the animals that share the planet with us! Well done and thanks for making me Google the middle line lol. Very clever!

  • Omgggg, I was today years old when I learned what an egret is! Thank you so much for the education. Also, this reminded me of a TikTok I saw last year. I'll leave the link in the comment below!

  • JBaz13 days ago

    You are absolutely killl'n this challenge.I am no longer certain which one of yours is my favorite.

  • Kendall Defoe 13 days ago

    Glad you put them all together like this... I think you are going to be one of the winners!

  • Brin J.14 days ago

    OMG, Heather, I'm fan-girling over this! An egrets mating dance is one of my favorites. (It's not elegant by any means, but adorable nonetheless) lol!

  • Babs Iverson14 days ago

    Fabulous poem and back story!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    We have them here too, they always feel portentious to me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.