Poets logo

Trials of The Heart

“a heart’s a heavy burden to bare.”

By Amandine CastonguayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
a thorn amidst roses, 1887, james sant

We define love in the way in which we’ve personally experienced it.

For me, at a very vulnerable age, romantic love was tainted in my head in such a way, that the mere thought of it ignited an eery terror aflame inside my chest.

An unwanted feeling that would try to snake it’s spindling spine in and out the bones of my rib cage.

But every time it attempted to worm its way through the opening to coil itself around my guarded heart, it’s scales would always get cut upon the barbed wire.

Some snakes would come with letters of love from suitors.

Others would come with handheld saws and dynamite.

It wasn’t until I experienced love in such a complex and non encaging way that my perception was altered.

It wasn’t until I experienced a love that was void of ownership. A love that didn’t ask me for the keys to my house or a deed.

It wasn’t until an unsuspecting man slinked himself inside the cave of my chest one night, completely unnoticed.

No snakes to whisper bartering lies and false promises.

No empty words to warm up thy heart only to leave it cold.

And when he arrived at my rib cage (lantern in hand) and peered through, he did not fear the wicked spikes on the tangled wire encompassing my heart.

Instead he sat outside their barriers for awhile, patiently waiting with caution.

Tempting the heart with poetic words and intentions true.

He did not try to hack through the wires to get to the other side. He did not get cut.

He didn’t make any sudden movements.

He simply waited.

Waited until the heart felt safe within the confines of his presence and it’s once solid barbed vines began to wither away and die.

Then he walked up to the heart.

Although vulnerable now in front of him, he didn’t take it.

He just put his palm against its surface and said,

I am here.

I am here.

I am here.

love poems

About the Creator

Amandine Castonguay

𝑨𝒎𝒂𝒏𝒅𝒊𝒏𝒆 𝒊𝒔 𝒂 𝟐𝟒 𝒚𝒆𝒂𝒓 𝒐𝒍𝒅 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒆𝒓, 𝒂𝒓𝒕𝒊𝒔𝒕 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒑𝒐𝒆𝒕. 𝑺𝒉𝒆 𝒉𝒂𝒔 𝒂 𝒇𝒐𝒏𝒅𝒏𝒆𝒔𝒔 𝒇𝒐𝒓 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒎𝒚𝒔𝒕𝒆𝒓𝒚 𝒐𝒇 𝒉𝒖𝒎𝒂𝒏 𝒏𝒂𝒕𝒖𝒓𝒆 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒊𝒔 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒉𝒆𝒓 𝒇𝒊𝒓𝒔𝒕 𝒏𝒐𝒗𝒆𝒍.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amandine CastonguayWritten by Amandine Castonguay

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.