Poets logo

Letters from Hyacinthus

My dearest Apollo, I see now that death is easy.

By Amandine CastonguayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
And from my withered body, flowers shall grow.

Do not weep at my gravestone, Apollo.

Don’t whisper my name with debt to the moon.

Do not never forget me, Apollo.

I pray for my ghost to leave your side soon.

Do not water my flowers, Apollo.

They shall wither to earth like my body has done.

Do not think of me often, Apollo.

I am so far away and death can’t be undone.

Do not make timeworn skies dark, Apollo.

There is wheat to be sown beside wars to be won.

Do not stay by my deathbed, Apollo.

Do not weave my name through the setting sun.

art

About the Creator

Amandine Castonguay

𝑨𝒎𝒂𝒏𝒅𝒊𝒏𝒆 𝒊𝒔 𝒂 𝟐𝟒 𝒚𝒆𝒂𝒓 𝒐𝒍𝒅 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒆𝒓, 𝒂𝒓𝒕𝒊𝒔𝒕 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒑𝒐𝒆𝒕. 𝑺𝒉𝒆 𝒉𝒂𝒔 𝒂 𝒇𝒐𝒏𝒅𝒏𝒆𝒔𝒔 𝒇𝒐𝒓 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒎𝒚𝒔𝒕𝒆𝒓𝒚 𝒐𝒇 𝒉𝒖𝒎𝒂𝒏 𝒏𝒂𝒕𝒖𝒓𝒆 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒊𝒔 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒉𝒆𝒓 𝒇𝒊𝒓𝒔𝒕 𝒏𝒐𝒗𝒆𝒍.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amandine CastonguayWritten by Amandine Castonguay

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.