Poets logo

I'm in love with a girl who’ll never know

Pity me

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 5 days ago Updated 3 days ago 2 min read
The Lady of Shalott by William Holman Hunt, via Wikimedia Commons

I'm in love with a girl who'll never know.

Her eyes aflame, her skin aglow,

Teeth a pithy white, bright as the moon's eerie glow on a calm, clear night.

I see you every day, long to be the object of your desire,

Your fire, mine to kindle, our love will never dwindle,

But I'm in love with a girl who'll never know.

I'm in love with a girl unconscious of my desire, my adoration.

My love a celebration of fascinating, obsession,

Longing for possession, you of me and me of you.

Yet distance is my foe, you’ll never know the extent of my ardour,

For I’m in love with a girl who cannot know.

Yes I’m in love with a girl who cannot see how love consumes me,

Never to please, just tease and use me.

My words unheard, my song, absurd as it may be,

Never to move thee, prove to thee my felicity.

I’m in love with a girl who’ll never say she loves me.

Never long to be, like me, at one with the other.

Never discover the joy of being together,

Forever, I will be but a shadow to you.

The dog on your leash, your bitch to please,

For I’m in love with a girl, without prospect of release.

The distance between us, immeasurable, no pleasurable proximity,

No touch, no blush, no hot flush,

For you are icy to the touch.

The makeup you wear, ghoulish, ghastly,

Seeing you there, in your casket, vastly

Over dressed, your hair messed, by technicians not blessed with the memory of your breathtaking beauty.

Soon, your mortal remains to be interred. Referred to your maker...

I can only wish I had spoken up,

Woken up, to the blessing that mutual admiration can bring,

Sing our love to the rooftops, the sky.

Why, I ask, did I say nothing?

It matters not, now you are gone.

I’m in love with a girl who’ll never know.

Rest peacefully, my angel.

Pity me.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

If you enjoyed reading this poem, you might also like:

Ask Me in December

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Free Versesad poetry

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 days ago

    WOW this piece was brilliant and sad yet hauntingly beautiful! Well done my friend!

  • So beautiful and sad. I love it!

  • Omgggg, that was so sadddd and heartbreaking! Like I felt my heart break for him. I wish I could give him a hug 🥺❤️

  • Ohhh definitely wasn’t expecting that to go there! Very well done 😅🤍🤗

  • Lamar Wiggins5 days ago

    Nice reveal!!! I commiserated with the MC over realizations of what could have been. Some of your best poetry, my friend.

  • Lana V Lynx5 days ago

    Beautiful sad poetry.

  • Mark Graham5 days ago

    To me this could be a poem of unrequited love and beautiful.

  • D. J. Reddall5 days ago

    "The grave’s a fine and private place,/But none, I think, do there embrace." Marvell moved in the same orbit as your splendid, sad poem.

  • The repetition of the line "I'm in love with a girl who'll never know" underscores the depth of the narrator's yearning. It evokes empathy and leaves the reader with a melancholic yet profound understanding of unrequited love, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Raymond G. TaylorWritten by Raymond G. Taylor

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.