Poets logo

Today, I am Layered

Author: Brandon Ham

By Brandon HamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Just like a hanger than can be found in a clothing store, or a body that is ready to face a winter storm, I am layered.

Garments of different colors drape my shoulders, and fall alongside my ankles. To most it’s just clothing, but to me they represent my different layers.

Much like a rock that has made it’s way from the decrepit sidewalk, to the shoreline of a beach because of stranger’s careless kick. I am layered.

From the pupil of your eye, I may look rough. But when you touch my exterior, you’ll see that I am as soft and smooth as the cotton shirt that I wear on my back.

That same white cotton dress shirt that I place upon my body when I want the irons of society to see my place in their society.

However, when they try to steam out my wrinkles as a form of interrogation, the temperature just may get too hot for me to handle … and I burn.

I am only layered.

A brand new item of clothing hung from the ends of a hanger in a clothing store ... that item was me.

White and bright is what I displayed, but after many washes and many spins in the “spin cycle”, I have been burned. A black hole is now left on my soft texture.

Black and white. Whew, how transparent.

Please don’t be dismayed, I am only layered.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Brandon Ham

Hi,

I am Brandon and I am from Brooklyn, NY. I am new to this site, the poetry competition is what brought me here. I send positvity and love to everyone!

- Brandon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brandon HamWritten by Brandon Ham

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.