Poets logo

Toastie

Haiku Honey? Challenge

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
36
Toastie
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Drippy cheese nuzzled

in sourdough—seared on hot

buttered iron. Crunch!

*****

*Toastie is the British word for grilled cheese. I learned it from an old friend.

Written for Caroline Jane's Haiku Honey? challenge from the Vocal Social Society FB group. Check out the link below and join in:

love poems
36

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Hi Haiku-'k' ~ As a strict vegan I long for a bite ~ 'j'

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Congratulations! This is a gorgeously indulgent haiku 😍

  • Sandra Matos8 months ago

    Congratulations on your 2nd place win! Your haiku has me tasting the cheesy crunch!

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    I like toasties (Jaffles in parts of Aust.) more than Haiku. Sourdough bread that holds a nest of sliced ham, indecently peppered and diced tomato and drowning in a pool of melty cheese. You have made me hungry - good job and congrats on the TS!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Fabulous work Kristen!

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    Very well written, congratulations on top story.💗

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    TS...and so delicious!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Came back to say congrats on the deliciousness!

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Congratulations on the top story!!!! Fantastic stuff. 🥰🥰🥰

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I love the word "nuzzled". Such a great choice. Like that toastie is all cosy and snug. Bread and cheese in perfect harmony. Congrats on TS!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Congrats on a gooey delicious Top Story!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Yay!! Top Story!! And now I’m craving this AGAIN 🤣

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Congrats on the yummy TS.

  • Nice, Congratulations on your Top Story🎉👌

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    My mouth is literally watering...guess I'll be having this for lunch! Loved your take on this, Kristen :) Congrats on Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Ooooooh yay! Congrats, pal! Well deserved Top Story!

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Where can I order? Great haiku! 😎

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Oh my...I knew I read this already...but didn't reply or like. Fixing that now. I love everything about this. Cheese toasties are one of my favourite go-to meals, snacks, lift-me-ups, anything really! I also do a non-grilled version in a dry frying pan that is delicious. Add some ham for another layer of lovely flavour. This is a great haiku, Kristen! Well done on making me salivate...pal!

  • Oh God, I'm craving a grilled cheese sandwich now! Why did you do this to me? 🤣🤣🤣

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Yummo! 😁

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    I'm hungry now!!! Great haiku!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Mmm, Sign me up!!! 😁

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Oh my! I want to eat that toasted sandwich immediately. I can taste it!! Thank you. 🥰

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Honestly, now I need a sandwich

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.