Poets logo

black paint

on angel feathers

By Brittany MacKeownPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
Like
black paint
Photo by Evie S. on Unsplash

the world is on fire

and i would watch it burn

if only it wasnt my world

if only it wasnt mine mine mine

going up in rainbow flames

a mockery of the queerness i hold so dear

because now i have buried the hatchet

but you can still see the blade

do you see it?

so dull

so rusty

do you see it?

so sharp

so shiny

a glittering pack of atoms clumped tight tight tight

fish in a can

i am a fish in the ocean

no teeth

tattered fins

though i am young

i feel as if i am falling apart

a loose cannon

without the cannon part

oh God, am i dying

is it time to die yet

i can never get the thought out of my head

it stays so i stay

here stay the room in me with

the words are a jumble

never coming out right

tongue leaden

here i am

licking my wounds

the black and gold bruises

they taste of sulfur

if hell is an exit then i am the doorframe

see me in the brass knob

the broken doorbell

it makes no sound

in the night when it rains

and the tears are flying

gravity upends

i reach a hand up

trying to find my halo

only to come away with smudged black

paint on my angel feathers

sad poetryMental Health
Like

About the Creator

Brittany MacKeown

I also go by my middle name, Renee, but you can call me about anything

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.