Poets logo

To the toys in the attic

an ode of reflection and thanks

By Heather HublerPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
60
Created with NightCafeStudio

I couldn't help but include this song by Michael Buble called Forever Now.

https://youtu.be/VRvYu5oOXF0

~

I see the scratches grooved across your face,

The missing pieces, the dents and dings from loving use–

You were everything once upon a time.

Your pictures circled in the winter catalog,

Your names scrawled on a red and green wreathed list,

Now piled haphazardly in a box, no longer in your prime.

I wonder if you were able to feel it,

Predict the future you would one day have,

Of sitting in an attic, collecting dust and dirt and grime.

Did you know the date when you'd be betrayed, put away for the very last time?

~

For all that you surrendered when the final day came,

I hope you know the joy you brought, the contagious smiles,

The creativity you inspired to brighten young hearts and minds,

Bits of comfort freely given by familiar friends on nights

When thunder boomed and nightmares took hold,

When they were too scared to peek out the window blinds.

Hours and hours of selfless giving and playing,

You offered a world of make believe and wonder,

Simply allowing them to explore and seek and find.

You were treasure troves of imagination, each one of a kind.

~

My heart breaks for us both as there's no going back to those days.

The moments can't be captured again except perhaps

In photographs and fuzzy memories, such bittersweet sorrow.

You and I are trapped here in a time loop, while they keep going,

Laughter and innocence, mischief and mystery, replaying on a screen designed for us,

'If onlys' teasing in the background of a different tomorrow,

You have so much more to give, yet I can't seem to let you go.

It's selfish, but I can't stop hoping for the next generation of chubby hands and curious eyes to hold you.

So, I'll ask for a little patience until the tears dry, and I can finally borrow

Enough strength to thank you for everything, and revel in the afterglow.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
60

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    Ah, sooo beautiful. Such a way with words! I loved circling things in the Argos catalogue when I was little. When I look at houses online that I know I can't afford, I tell my partner it's the adult version of the Argos Christmas catalogue 😀

  • MecAsaf8 months ago

    Fantastic work

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Beautiful poem Heather!!! 🥰 congratulations! It’s where it should be, on the front page. 🥇

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Ahhh another generation will breathe life into them 😁

  • Naveed Ahmed Syed9 months ago

    A touching ode to cherished memories and the lasting impact of treasured possessions.

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    Is it any wonder adults now pay a fortune for collectable toys from our childhoods? Something to hold onto to help us remember innocent times ❤️

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    Wonderful, Heather! I have so many fond memories of old toys and books. Congratulations on a well-deserved top story! 💕🙂

  • Such a wonderful ode. I love these lines: "The moments can't be captured again except perhaps / In photographs and fuzzy memories, such bittersweet sorrow." Sometimes we think we can capture and/or remember a moment forever only to find that pictures and memories fade. And often we rewrite what happened to the point of not even doing justice to the original. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Brenton F9 months ago

    This exactly! You have succinctly captured that throat tightening moment that comes with feel good reminiscing.

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Beautiful poetry heather. Congrats on TS.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Well, I finally made it back to comment on this one and now I can congratulate you on Top Story, too. This hit me as a child, then as a parent, and then as a grandparent. So many moments gone.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I like that song you included. A wonderful sentiment that complimented the poem perfectly. Excellent Work!!! 🤩

  • JBaz9 months ago

    I was drawn into my childhood again Congratulations

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Congrats! 🎉

  • Marilyn Glover9 months ago

    You took me back to my favorite doll and stuffie. Nice work, Heather; I love this poem! ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Beautiful ♥️ Love the beginning stanza especially " Circled in a winter catalog" ❤️ Congratulations on Top story too.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    “Put away for the very last time” UGH RIGHT IN THE HEART ❤️😅

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Miss U'z - You can't play with my 'Toys' anymore - J-Bud

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    Nostalgia and warm feelings 💕 very well written

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    There it is. Congrats, Empress.

  • Wow, Wow 😮 CONGRATULATIONS FRIEND💖🎉🎉🎉✨👌🎉🎉😁TOP STORY❗❗❗❗

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Oh, so sad, but so sweet and nostalgic. Beautiful!

  • Ahamed Thousif9 months ago

    This Poem is Wonderful!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    😭 oh my goodness- this just got me straight in the heart! Now I’m looking at the toys scattered all over my living room and loving that they are there (maybe not that Lego I just stepped on), but truly…perspective. And tears. Beautiful ode, Heather! Love this one so much!

  • Wow I’m simply blown away by this every line just kept getting stronger the last lines were my favorite. So much in here well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.