Poets logo

Time or Quality Time

Choose

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Time or Quality Time
Photo by Justin Veenema on Unsplash

Six hundred things

are buzzing through

my mind.

******

Do this

Do that

Go there

Come here

******

I am one

only one

I can not

do everything.

******

I choose

which hoop

which place

deserves my time.

*******

Responsibilities first

which includes

children and grandbabies

Next, my well-being.

******

I do not punch a clock.

I do not have a set schedule.

I work harder

Than I have ever before.

******

I give you

an hour of time

I give up

financials stability.

*******

I value you

enough to

spend time with you

value me for my sacrifice.

******

Friends are priceless

Conversations are needed

the shared meal

enriches our time together.

******

I feel guilty

when I have

say no

to time for us.

******

There are times

when I must

beat the pavement

or close the office door.

******

My no

doesn't mean

I don't care

I just have to care for me too.

******

One day

I hope you

can see

I do this for moments with thee.

******

I would rather

have fun

and play

and enjoy our day.

******

Yet, you know

My days are long

at times

and my phone I silence.

******

I do so

for me

when I must work

and when I must sleep.

******

I will not

neglect me

nor jump through hoops

of those who do not understand.

******

Please show me

some understanding

Please show me care

When I have to decline time.

******

My time is

not free

to be exploited

on a whim.

******

My love for you

My respect for you

doesn't mean

I drop everything on a whim.

******

Respect me

enough to make plans

with me

so I can give you quality.

social commentary

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • C.S LEWIS8 months ago

    This is a great work you can join my friends and read what i have just prepared for you.

Sheila L. ChingwaWritten by Sheila L. Chingwa

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.