Poets logo

Brave Front

Are All Eyes On Me?

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Brave Front
Photo by Stephanie LeBlanc on Unsplash

Marching forth in the army with my crew,

Am I walking in unison?

Staring intently ahead, mind is focused forward.

Is everyone looking at me?

I am proud to serve my country,

Or Am I doing this for myself?

I fear not for what I am going to face,

Will I make it back whole?

My mind is clear and ready.

How I wish I was still a child basking in my youth!

I am silent because I am listening to my commander,

I fear if I open my mouth I will vomit.

We are all becoming men today.

Does signing up for the army just a means to get away from responsibility?

vintageFree VerseexcerptsBallad

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Babs Iversona day ago

    Intriging!!! Lots to think about!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hmmm, get away from what kinda responsibilities? Family?

Sid Aaron HirjiWritten by Sid Aaron Hirji

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.