Poets logo

Time and Space

Limerent mumbles

By Suze KayPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
39
Time and Space
Photo by Michèle Eckert on Unsplash

Everyone searches for a voice that says

yes in the dark. Of my soul, it says little

but needs much: hands, money, silk.

It settles for a dream and a word,

a plan made without thinking. So it goes.

____________

I wish for love, an embarrassment of it,

for flowers rotting on every windowsill, for

a twin traveler with a strong grip. Yes.

I dally in the mirror. I change the color

of my lips a hundred times. I talk to myself.

____________

The word goes forth. It spills the promise of

a life well-lived, of distance closed and mess

cleaned, secrets kept and roots spread. It smiles

back at me from the mirror. It charts bold lines

on shaky ground and keeps me on a lead.

____________

Questions of geography falter in the face

of tenderness, which can be whispered on

an open line or gathered in the nib of my pen.

But I can't stop the sky at the color I want.

I can't fold the ocean any more than a fitted sheet.

____________

Time is a test. It finds me home and warps

around me, asking if not then, then why not now?

Yes. Yes. Yes.

I say it to myself.

I always did.

heartbreakFree Verse
39

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    a twin traveler with a strong grip - I love that!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Great work, Suze. Congrats!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    Ooo beautiful

  • Justice Ikiroma2 months ago

    Such a beautiful poem. I count myself lucky enough to have stumbled on it.

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    So beautiful and well written Suze! “I can't fold the ocean any more than a fitted sheet.” Is an especially brilliant line. Wow. Congrats on top story!

  • ema2 months ago

    Beautiful poem! Sometimes all we need is a Yes! 😍

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Kay Husnick2 months ago

    I know I’ve already commented, but congrats on the Top Story! This was very deserved.

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Well, I'm really late to the party, and my favorite lines are everyone else's, too. Brilliantly penned, as always, Suze!

  • Test2 months ago

    Congrats on the top story. This is so beautifully woven. You always create such beautiful pieces. The "I wish for love" stanza is somehow soft and hard hitting at the same time. Gorgeous.

  • Rin Obito2 months ago

    Try this story once : https://vocal.media/writers/unveiling-the-genius-behind-goku

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Favorite lines: "But I can't stop the sky at the color I want. I can't fold the ocean any more than a fitted sheet." (But I can fold a fitted sheet)

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Test2 months ago

    You crete depth of emotion so beautifully. So many wonderful images though folding the ocen, or not, is such a poihnant idea, Stunnng as always 🤍

  • Wasted & unfulfilled dreams & heartache, swept up in youth, left to regrets in old age. I constantly find myself recalling one of my favorite lines from Serendipity spoken by Sara's best friend Eve: "You see that is what happens when people get hooked on the new age life they end up sitting at home burning candles for mister right, when mister good enough for right now is waiting at the corner bar!"

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is beautiful, whistful, longing. Like Dharrsheena below, that line about the sky...

  • But I can't stop the sky at the color I want. I can't fold the ocean any more than a fitted sheet. Gosh I love those lines so much! Your poem was soooo awesomeeee!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    You are just so talented, Suze. Everytime I read something of yours...it's like a deep dive into your thoughts, your feelings and you have such a way with words. DK and John have already said my favourite lines...but really...I could pick out any. I also love the almost conversational tone to it at times. It feels so unforced. Magic.

  • Kay Husnick2 months ago

    I love the format of this. So many great lines stick out. Amazing piece!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Oh my. This is simply beautiful. Stopping the sky at the colour I want and folding the ocean - what a visual. Well done.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I had the same favorite lines as DK, but all of them were special. You are a wonderful poet. The sincerity and depth of feeling in your writing is especially striking. Very, very well done, Suze.

  • Mohammed Darasi2 months ago

    Great poem! I love the line 'I wish for love, an embarrassment of it,". Because it adds two adjectives to the love you mention. If I got the meaning of embarrassment here right, I just happened to know it because of a TV show I watched that randomly had pandas init 😅

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    This is lovely. I think this is my favourite part. It makes me think of me and my partner, trying to scrape enough money together to move closer to each other: "The word goes forth. It spills the promise of a life well-lived, of distance closed and mess cleaned, secrets kept and roots spread."

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Breathtakingly brilliant! So many marvels in this but I adored “But I can't stop the sky at the color I want. I can't fold the ocean any more than a fitted sheet.”

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.