Poets logo

Things to be Held in Check

A Poem

By Rachel LightfootPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Things to be Held in Check
Photo by Diane Helentjaris on Unsplash

There are so many things I wish to say to you, paint you a picture in words: 

A landslide of kaleidoscopic fragments that make up the shape of you in my mind’s eye. 

I want to tell you that I feel you as morning sunshine beaming through a glass pane, radiating warmth and light. 

I ought to tell you that you make me feel safe, secure

- warm soup and log fires -

you are like a cloak of protection that I long to wrap around myself. 

I need to tell you, but I cannot find the valourous arrows within my arsenal of broken dolls and off-beat drum-rolls. 

Instead, I dress my bare, cold shoulders in ambiguity, making the most of you confined, circumscribed by my own mind. 

Oh, The tears of frustration I've cried!

Push all yearning aside, affection lost to pride. 

Canal sides and coffee tables, I want to reach out and touch your hand, but I fall back in reprimand. 

I'm eager to water you with these words, deliver them like fresh, light rain on summer terrain. 

Flow. 

Nourish the sentences to get this thing past go! 

But the words will not come. 

It's like that first attempt at a scream when shaking yourself awake from a bad dream, a dry, faint whimper lost to dread. 

Restrained only by fear. 

All of this emotion held in one fat tear. 

Ready to implode by remaining in self-preservation mode. 

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Lightfoot

I like to play with words.

Poems, mostly.

https://rachellightfoot.wixsite.com/my-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.