Poets logo

The Young Once

cornflakes...

By Brenton FPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
6
© bbc.co.uk

you really shouldn't encourage me

i got crude and crass down pat

i can behave if i absolutely have to

but mostly it’s “aaahhh fuck that

i have a loose concept of normal

but it’s a place i tend to shun

can’t handle that kind of stillness

my elusion illusion, my fun

normal is very very boring

pure undiluted normal is very bland

like a laugh track on a shit TV show

pretend, prepared and pre-planned

like everyone’s in the joke

even before the driest of smiles is raised

it’s just so bloody pointless and boring

it’s no wonder i’m a little bit crazed

“it’s very, very boring!“

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    I tried being normal once. Worst day if my life, lol! Loved your poem!

  • The best people are crazy

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    This was a fun poem - I'm never convinced by the notion of normal though!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Normal is overrated.

  • Lol 😆💙 👍I feel ya!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.