Poets logo

The Great Fire in the Sky

A snapshot moment during a mass extinction.

By Ashley LimaPublished about a month ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
The Great Fire in the Sky
Photo by Piermanuele Sberni on Unsplash

Wake up, wake up!

We must take our leave.

The sky is red with fire;

It's getting hard to breathe.

-

It isn't that simple,

You must understand.

To nurture these eggs,

I must stay where I am.

-

There is no time to wait,

Please come with me, my dear.

More eggs, they will come,

Should we survive through this fear.

-

If we are doomed to die

We may as well stay,

For there's not much to live for

Should their lives go away.

-

Don't make me decide

Between life with or without

I refuse to make choices

Through the shadows of doubt.

-

Then leave me behind

And don't shed a tear,

For this is my choice

And yours seems quite clear.

-

I refuse to forget

The life that we made.

But the fire approaches;

I've no courage to stay.

-

Remember this moment,

When push comes to shove.

If you survive the fallout,

You left the ones whom you loved.

-

The smoke is encroaching,

The forest, it sings,

My foot pads are burning,

I wish I had wings

-

My legs, they do carry

As fast as they can,

But exhaustion overtakes me,

Not much longer, I can stand.

-

Upon looking back,

I watch the lava approach,

Destroying the nest,

Where my family took post.

-

Tripping over the landscape,

Too rugged and worn,

As the fire approaches,

I'm not without scorn.

-

For this is the end,

And I left those whom I loved.

For nothing I stand for,

As the fire catches up.

-

It's the end of an era,

It's the end of it all,

Should anything survive,

Pray for peace, for us all.

sad poetryFor Fun

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (17)

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 29 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story ! I felt every word! I could see the lava, the fire, the despair

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Excellent entry Ash!! 😁 Great job on your top story too.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I feel sad for the dinosaurs!! Great rhymes and congrats on a well deserved TS!! πŸ’•πŸ₯³. Great job- unique voice telling how it ends.

  • Gloria Penelopeabout a month ago

    Wonderful poem, congratulations on top story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Wow. That was incredible, Ashley. Congrats on the TS.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fantastic rhymes and congrats on the Top Story!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Belleabout a month ago

    Beautifully written, Ashley! I love this take on the dinosaur's perspective! Heartfelt. ❀️ Congrats on top story!!

  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    congrats on TS. This was truly brilliant. sad and yet epitomizes the emotions in so many of us. Excellent writing.

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Ooof. Abandoment in the worst possible sense, and all for naught. Well writ, Ashley!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    This was heartbreaking. Writing the internal struggle of the dinosaur made this especially painful. What a remarkable poem! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! πŸ₯³ Wouldn't it be amazing if peace won the day?! If only!!!

  • The Artistic Universeabout a month ago

    profound themes of love, sacrifice, and resilience. nice

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    I hope we learn from the dinos, are we making plans for such an event. Where will our fallout shelter be. Much to think about.

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a month ago

    This feels representative of that internal argument we all go through when we consider leaving those we love behind (whether others, or parts of ourselves). And how staying to persuade them only secures our fate to be the same as theirs, rather than helping them to survive with us. There are a lots of strong messages of truth in this πŸ‘ŒπŸ™

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    I'm glad you decided to rejoin this crazy pack of scribblers. I like how you did this from a dino's pov.

  • Matthew Frommabout a month ago

    Welcome back! Great poem

Ashley LimaWritten by Ashley Lima

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.