Poets logo

The Waves are Crashing

Accepting

By Miranda MerrittPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The movement towards something meant for me

The waves are crashing...
The waves are crashing...

I sit there looking out at the sky,
Where two birds dance and dive,
Perfectly in sync.
And I cry...

The waves are crashing and I cry.
Each tear is gentle and soft.
They kiss my face and remind me
That I am here, to take a deep breathe
And do not worry or fear.
And I breathe...

The waves are crashing and I breathe
With the ebbing waves that flow in
And let go.
They do as they must,
Because there is no stopping
The decisions made by nature.

I take in this memory of the moment
And those of the past.
Who am I to throw sand at the sea?
Of course. The ocean breeze will
Blow it back...

So now I sit
And I cry
And I breathe.

The waves are crashing...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Miranda Merritt

I write poems and, sometimes, longer short stories. My inspiration comes from my feelings. I take into account what I am trying to express and then do my best to express those feelings through words.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • EAP2 years ago

    Beautiful work, love the use of repetition!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.