Poets logo

The Splash of Light

A Letter for Love from Afar

By Eddie J GrymPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
No matter what makes the light, never let it be put out.

It's nighttime again. I stare out through the window into the skies black outside and think about you.

It hasn't been long since you went away into slumber, yet I can feel deep within my heart what I would call "the thunder."

An emotion I have not experienced before, one that draws near the same darkness you push away. I could say the words or save them, but the taste of apples won't change.

I stare at the screen with the biggest smile on my face, as I read our old texts and realize that nothing ever changed.

Just as the day we met, I have had a roaring feeling echoeing from deep within my soul, itching to reveal what I never knew: That my stone heart could beat for you.

Every night I stare out into the window and whisper at the moon, hoping you will know, that there is nothing in this life and beyond that I would not give to see you smile once more, for one day and the next until my end.

The sweet whisper of your voice feels like the warm embrace of a love unbelieved. My heart pounds passionately when I hear your name, and the wind escapes from my lungs. Darling, it's like nothing has changed, for I love you all the same.

With time you learn that not all heroes wear capes, not all damsels are in distress, and my love; you were the one that saved me from myself.

Now I feel like a new man with each and every morning, just eagerly awaiting to make you fall in love once more. It will take me forever, because I will do it all over again, just the same amount of time I intend in loving you.

So as my screen goes dark, the light still burns within my heart. As I lie to slumber where I will join you, I never forget to remember because your name and face are already a part of my soul.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Eddie J Grym

I have been creating stories for fifteen years now, but have only been writing since 2014. I enjoy the craft that is to spell the adventures of the mind into sentences and pages to share these journeys with others.

Twitter & IG: @ejgrym

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.