Poets logo

The Silence

Thursday March 12th, 2020

By Eddie J GrymPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

In silence, I have watched as you raged. Understanding your reasons, yet with a sword in hand, you slice the arms that can no longer cease a shield's protection. I never wanted to disappoint you, yet I stand unwilling to respond in the same way.

The silence I speak, crafts my convictions behind the clouds that veil your mind. We are no different than animals if we cannot muster a civil response, for even a dog knows loyalty.

As silence stitches my intentions behind the unwavering stillness, with your blade, you put me asunder. Taint the waters red and call me the traitor.

In silence, I have written the words your eyes shall never graze, as I collect the pieces of my broken self. Arms split, legs splintered, and a heart withered.

This silence that you have mustered so much hate for over the years has kept me sane. Blanketed by the embrace of the four walls of my imprisonment, I have found a home.

The silent faces I have carved on the walls speak to me the same way I have spoken to you. Though the message differs, the barrier falls.

This silence is for me and mine alone, not yours to bear. If you so wish to break it, I shan't despair. For the pain is mine alone, and for no one else. You couldn't break me, not a wish to spare.

To break my silence, these words, I shall burn in your mind. Know that you couldn't change me, I was never of your kind. Today I end my life with you, so I can live tomorrow as a man, forever free.

Read me now and listen well to these words in which my voice spells within your mind. The next time you hear my silence, you will know that I traded my freedom for your absence.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eddie J Grym

I have been creating stories for fifteen years now, but have only been writing since 2014. I enjoy the craft that is to spell the adventures of the mind into sentences and pages to share these journeys with others.

Twitter & IG: @ejgrym

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.