Poets logo

Glowing glow up grow up

Open and Closed by Monica Ikegwu

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
5
By Monica Ikegwu💕❤️

the fire of the johnny pump, good days ahead that tear apart my soul and I spoil And I spill like a leaking, dying dog on the road but i am not a dog I'm human

But people stop for dogs dying

The fire of the water splitting my frizzy hair against the dance of the summer fire

The fire of the joint that was lit against my back

Training my trauma to open and close like a slowly dying swan, lungs that daze in and out like a long drag of a joint

A joint as an institution

An institution of a dying dog slathered on a thick canvas

I am not the joint, I am the place

Closed & open, sutured and dead

My heart is on fire, the johnny pump can't defuse the fire, no matter how hard the water hits

There's a glowing about you, a glow up, a grow up, so luminous, the intense glow is blinding me

You won't touch me, the framework of the fire around me is a part of me, I am the fire and the blood

I'm training to close & open trauma like a dive bar, where the drunken man is the shepherd

Selling wares, broken hearts

My hearts leaks like a dying dog, where the water slips down the drain right next to my gasping drought

Boy and Dog in a Johnnypump Painting by Jean-Michel Basquiat

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 days ago

    Gosh this felt so devastating and was so intense. Loved your poem!

  • angela hepworth10 days ago

    Your word choice is absolutely impeccable!

  • Wow! This was very intense! The drunken man being the Shepard was interesting. What inspired this?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.