Poets logo

The Seventh Day

Going Home

By Cathy holmesPublished 6 days ago β€’ 1 min read
16
author's photo

As the sun sets on the seventh day,

and the birds sing songs of welcome

to the moon and stars,

my feet will, once again, touch that rocky shore.

My lungs will immerse themselves in the salty breeze.

I will breathe with the air of gratitude,

as the pieces of myself I left behind

in that magical place

will join with the souls of remembrance who come to greet me.

For the first time in sixteen years

I know, in my mind, that I will be home.

But what I also know is that

in my heart, I never left.

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirationalHolidayGratitudeFree VerseFamilyfact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • D. J. Reddalla day ago

    The world without changes while the world within remains constant. A fine theme, caught herein with style and grace!

  • Christy Munson3 days ago

    Love it, especially the last line!

  • "Home is where the heart is." Or, as I have elsewhere stated: "Far more important than where my body dwells Is how I choose to dwell in my body." Well-wrought!

  • Ammu 3 days ago

    Loved it πŸ₯°

  • Rony Sutradar4 days ago

    The way how you see love and feel it is brilliant. I subscribed you to give my support and I welcome you to read my ones too πŸ₯°!

  • D.K. Shepard5 days ago

    Ah, this is beautiful! In both sentiment and composition. Wonderful piece, Cathy!

  • Beautiful… always lovely to be home again. β€˜I know, in my mind, that I will be home. But what I also know is that in my heart, I never left.β€™πŸ’œ

  • Oh yes, you wrote about this for the challenge that was posted in the Wander community. I forgot the title, sorry πŸ˜… Have a wonderful time there! πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯° You'll bring Abigail along, right?

  • This is almost sensually sweet, bringing about a poignant longing. Very nicely done.

  • Your poetry always so artfully blends senses and emotions and rhythms ... and leaves me with a sigh of satisfaction -- especially this poem!

  • Babs Iverson6 days ago

    Fantastic gratitude poem!!! Loved it!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • John Cox6 days ago

    This is a wonderful poem, Cathy, I feel the longing for your return. The mystic salt and earth of home. My father had a deep connection to his home place and by connection my siblings and I did as well. Interestingly, I feel little connection to the land of my youth.

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    Ah, so holding, so gently safe.

  • Dana Crandell6 days ago

    Beautiful photo, gorgeous words! This is exactly what coming home should feel like!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.