Poets logo

Cord Cutting Ritual

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
24
Cord Cutting Ritual
Photo by Ksenia Yakovleva on Unsplash

The spellbooks say to sever a bond I need candles and string

my mother says I need a lawyer

the bank says I need your signature or you need mine

my father says all I need is to give him a key and let him call the shots.

I say I need an update, plead in unsent email drafts begging for my freedom from you

and you say nothing or too much about everything else, refusing any acknowledgment of the hostage you made me

I highlight and delete until I'm left with one-word sentences

always asking the same question, always another implied

when does this end?

sad poetryfact or fiction
24

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm44 minutes ago

    Cut those dang cords! Nice work on your top story! 😊👍

  • Love this , very other worldly

  • Listen to your mother and the spellbook! Congrats on TS🤩

  • Joe Pattersona day ago

    Well done. Congratulations on top story

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Many congratulations on TS Well deserved win

  • Robyn Peterson2 days ago

    🖤

  • TahimaAni3 days ago

    congratulations 🥳

  • Dana Crandell3 days ago

    Tons of pent up frustration in very few words. Congratulations on a great read and the Top Story!

  • So succinct! This is what poetry is about.

  • peter3 days ago

    thanks your story

  • Gerard DiLeo3 days ago

    It ends when the cord goes pulseless. Also, the umbilical cord has no nerve endings, so it doesn't hurt to cut it. When the pulses cease, why wait?

  • The contradiction in those first two lines is fantastic. Terrific poem!

  • Christy Munson5 days ago

    You bring your reader through a variety of options, none of which are good or bad, but all of which seem to miss the point of actually extracting your narrator from the circumstances at hand. I love the tension you've created -- in effect, you keep your reader prisoner, too, awaiting a proper resolve. Loved the chuckle of a "one-word sentence". Enjoyed it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.