Poets logo

I Wrote Your Name in the Stars

A Conversation

By Cathy holmesPublished 7 days ago Updated 7 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
53
MS Image Creator

I wrote your name in the stars last night.

I smiled, and waved hello.

I cried until my heart felt right.

I dried your tears with love.

*

I heard your voice in the robins’ song.

My message, heaven sent.

With mournful thoughts, I sang along.

Sing of joy, not of lament.

*

I felt your touch on the floral breeze.

The lilac scent, your fave.

I trimmed some petals from the trees.

You placed them on my grave.

*

I saw an angel in the clouds.

She’s there for your release.

I saw her smiling through her shroud.

We don’t want you to grieve.

*

I wish that I could hold you close.

You’ll feel me in sunbeams.

When I rest my head, I miss you most.

I’ll be there in your dreams.

*

I wrote your name in the stars last night.

I hung the crescent moon.

I pray we’ll meet again one day.

I pray it won’t be soon.

surreal poetryinspirationalGratitude
53

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (51)

Sign in to comment
  • Jakob Hejrskovabout 15 hours ago

    Its really heart touching: https://reminimod.com/

  • Beautiful work Cathy.

  • Wow, it's amazing.

  • Leslie Writes2 days ago

    This is so moving. It feels like a companion piece to your winning Haiku ❤️

  • J. R. Lowe2 days ago

    How do you always manage to make my eyes water, whether it’s from laughing or sobbing?? 😭

  • Poppy 3 days ago

    Oh. My. Gosh. This is incredible Cathy. The perfect rhythm combined with the effortless back and forth and the gentle but heartbreaking tone is just breathtaking. Also the way it comes full circle is so perfect. Wow, I’m in awe.

  • Paul Stewart3 days ago

    Okay...who the hell is cutting onions. In all seriousness...beautiful work...just beautiful. Honest, raw...beautiful and should be a winner. Well done Buddy and congrats on Top Story too. Yeah, you made me cry...but it was worth reading this and crying...or something. Loved it!

  • TahimaAni3 days ago

    loved it..congratulations ♥️

  • Adam3 days ago

    wow

  • Hey, Cathy! You and Dharrshee are always top story tellers😍😍! I liked that way! If you publish tomorrow, then again it is a top story 😁😁. Wow, wow. May be I too in the long run 🤣🤣🤣🤣.

  • peter3 days ago

    very good. ilike you

  • Well-wrought! This was masterfully done. Wistfully sad but hopeful. A loved one would not want us to long too soon for the other side, knowing that we'll meet soon enough, and perhaps again and again. I shared this one to my facebook page. I hope it gets a few more readers your way!

  • Gerard DiLeo3 days ago

    Great write!

  • Ammu 3 days ago

    Beautiful...

  • JBaz3 days ago

    Back to say congratulations and I believe this will also be on the leaderboard

  • Really beautiful. Congratulations 🎉👏

  • Ah, looks like your poem wrote it's name on the Top Story list! Congratulations! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Anna 4 days ago

    Wow, you did an excellent job with this poem! So heartfelt and gentle, I love it!❤️

  • The Cafecito4 days ago

    Lovely ♡

  • What a beautiful and poignantly detailed piece of art, great work and congratulations on top story

  • JBaz4 days ago

    Cathy, I keep saying you out do yourself, this time you absolutely did. My heart is still recovering. If the judges read every entry like they say, this has to be a winner.

  • Luksi Bayou4 days ago

    This is beautiful and heartfelt. 💜 Thank you for sharing.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 days ago

    This was really beautiful Cathy!! I love what you did here!! Great work and congrats on Top Story!

  • congratulations on TS. This is such a beautiful tribute to a lasting love. Sad, beautiful, and wonderful.

  • This reminds me of your champion blue haiku, just as lovely and tender and eye-watering in dialogue form....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.