Poets logo

The Scent of Flowers in my Hair

a poem

By Merrie SandersPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
The Scent of Flowers in my Hair
Photo by micheile henderson on Unsplash

I want to come home smelling like flowers.

When I walk through the door,

you’ll know how I’ve spent my hours.

Elbow deep in the dirt with thorns poking my skin,

Cut stems at a slant to push the water within.

Surrounded by art, breathing in the fresh air,

The enveloping scent of blooms in my hair.

Deeply threaded in the follicles of my skin.

The greenery and its poetry, like spirits akin.

My hands may be tired or cracked to the bone,

Arrangements opening with every note grown.

My eyes might be strained and impossibly tired.

My hands may be cut from rogue chicken wire.

But for every drop shed, one hundred more,

Creation and magic are held in that store.

My hopes and my dreams, all finally realized,

Hard work, dedication, in time recognized.

My best self I’ll be, my passion laid bare,

When I finally come home,

the scent of flowers in my hair.

For Funnature poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

Merrie Sanders

Writing for fun and as an escape from the everyday. After all, what is life for if not to create?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    Beautifully-written, and I love the garden imagery! “The greenery and its poetry, like spirits akin.” is a great line, and the rhyme keeps things flowing as well. Nicely done! Good luck in the challenge😊

  • This is a beautiful read… thank you.

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    I love this whether allegorical or about gardening, nurturing, whatever. I've just read Dharrsheena's comment so I going to read it the other way up!

  • Is this for the Inverse challenge? It works so well both ways! Loved your poem!

Merrie SandersWritten by Merrie Sanders

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.