Poets logo

The Pain You Can't Get Rid Of

Thoughts from the Youngest

By Cathy holmesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
29
photo by author

Living with two siblings,

The youngest and only girl,

Lonely was my home life,

Chaos was their world.

*

They never wanted me around.

They’d make me go away.

It wasn’t fair. I hated them.

I only wanted to play.

*

They were two peas in their own pod.

Just a year apart in age.

They didn’t want no nasty girls,

And tried to lock me in a cage.

*

They built a fort, high in a tree,

And never let me in,

Until our parents forced them to,

Much to their chagrin.

*

“Mom, Jerry’s hitting me”,

The scream came from my head.

“DON’T EVER HIT YOUR SISTER.

AND GO STRAIGHT TO YOUR BED”.

*

They got in so much trouble,

And blamed it all on me.

But I was just a little girl,

As innocent as could be.

*

I swear it was their own fault,

A lie, I’d never tell.

For I was taught that if I did,

Then I’d go straight to hell.

*

Now that we’re so much older,

And many years have passed.

They like to reminisce about,

Their sister, the pain in the ass.

*

Looking back as adults,

I’m sure we all agree,

That “pain you can’t get rid of”,

Was never them, ‘twas me.

inspirational
29

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Haha, wow, the turn here is so different from what I usually see in poetry like this. You have a way with words, particularly in how you look back on the past. I can see some "between the lines" truths from your childhood and I love seeing how the perspective looking back takes on two shapes: the lived experience, and the matured wisdom. So wholesome. I so enjoyed this.

  • Such self-awareness, & still.... (They really were pains in your ass, too.)

  • I love this, Cathy. It is a fun read packed with emotion. Well done!

  • Sara Wilson10 months ago

    This was so good! I'm also the youngest of three and felt this lol

  • I see 😁😆🥰💜💯😍Great piece, Cathy🙌

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Your stories are just so fucking entertaining! (I did that just for you, Cathy.) Wonderful words, as always. I really enjoyed reading them again!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Hahah! I love this and the ending made me giggle 🥰😁

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Lol trust me to find this, like it and then link to it in one of my pieces and forget to leave a damn comment. This is beautiful!

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    I was the girl sandwiched between two boys who loved to play “Army,” and they somehow managed to rope me into their games. This takes me back in time!

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    As always Cathy, witty and clever, I love reading your stuff. I just have to mention something off topic, that old wringer washing machine brings back memories.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Awww!!! My daughter is the only girl and has 2 older brothers and one younger. At least she was able to get her little brother to be her doll :) I wanted to hug your cute little self!! I love that you made this into a poem.

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Oh Cathy this is PRECIOUS! Full of emotion and so much truth. I too was the youngest and only girl for a loooong time until my cousin came along. I don't think my brothers were so mean and took good care and included me most of the time when playing. I felt every word of your poem and it seems like good therapy and healing. Thank you so much for sharing it.

  • Being not included always sucks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.