Poets logo

Your New Home

In angels' wings

By Cathy holmesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
36
Keeping you safe in angels' wings. photo by author

I went to a gathering at your old home to celebrate you.

It was tough because I knew you wouldn't be there.

I was going to see your friends and family,

But I knew I wouldn't see you.

**

I was wrong about that.

**

I saw your beautiful smile on the face of your daughter.

I heard your infectious laughter in the voice of your son.

I felt your joy for life in the exuberance of your grandchildren.

I saw your kind, beautiful soul in the eyes of your brother.

**

You were right there at home.

**

I didn't think you'd be there, but you were.

I couldn't hug you, but I could feel you.

I carried you close to my heart.

When we raised a glass in your honour, I offered you a sip.

**

Could you taste it?

**

You were, you are, and you always will be with us.

We will always carry you close to our hearts

And keep you safe in angels’ wings,

Until the day we will meet again, in your new home.

**

For in the end, we all go home.

love poems
36

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Was brought here by Jazzy's podcast. This is beautiful! So much emotion. Well done buddy!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Heard this on Jazzy’s podcast and had to come comment. This is absolutely beautifully written, emotion in every line. So sorry for your loss though Cathy

  • Celia in Underland8 months ago

    This is so beautifully written. I'm crying as I type. Really poignant and touching. Thank you for sharing and writing it! 🤍

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Here is your episode https://open.spotify.com/episode/3riOIsommVkLPAzIPUg9oV?si=5pPMmnroRBiHO_tiOOi7VQ

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I teared up reading this...Can I read this on my podcast?

  • I'm so sorry for your loss. This was a beautiful poem

  • Enjoyed and hearted💕💖

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful!!! Hearted previously 💕💖😊💕

  • I had already hearted this but it is wonderful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.