Poets logo

The Organs Play

The First poem from my Chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"//Thank you to everyone who read, liked and gave the most elating comments on the poetry leading to this piece. I'm overjoyed and most grateful for all the support and I'm absolutely pleased to know a few of these poems resonated with some of you, which was the objective. I didn't believe anyone would admire or find interest in this section of my life, or any of the other work I've published on Vocal for that matter. Though I was proven wrong and it's good that I was. Much love. All the poems are linked in true succession so my readers can have a fluid experience that is As Glamorous as a Kidney. Now.....

By Michael ButorovichPublished 28 days ago 1 min read
2

I woke up this morning

Feeling sick.

{

That just comes with

The alcoholics territory.

..

No longer can I sit down

And feel strange to

Myself.

{

Today is like any day.

{

Our eyes open and it’s

Either knowing what to do

Or trying to figure

It out.

{

Only one thing is certain.

{

We dance to the rhythm of

Chaos and sing for order.

{

I woke up this morning

Feeling sick.

{

That’s just what happens

When you introduce an empty

Stomach to a pint

Of alcohol.

..

No longer can I sit here

And simply wait.

{

I function to the best of

My abilities.

With a chemical brain,

Black lungs,

Racing heart,

And a tough stomach.

{

My work is a function.

Like any other organ in

A body.

{

And just as glamorous

As a waste filter.

}

Filter to March 9, 2017

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi28 days ago

    You're an unstoppable force! Your drive and ambition are incredibly commendable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.