Poets logo

March 9, 2017

The Second poem from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3

My lady and I split a week ago.

It was mutual.

We even kissed goodbye and

Hugged each other tightly.

{

At first it was okay.

I felt fine knowing we were

Still on good terms and she

Was spreading her wings to grow.

That, and with the confidence she

Gave me I figured there will be

New pussy to make moist and plenty

More time to post up and write

Some new shit.

{

But after a few days it started

To hit me.

I started to reflect on the times

We shared and how we’d phone and

Text.

{

I then started to feel guilty

(As I had before) about the

Times I was an asshole, my

Depressive attitude, my

Behavior when I got drunk and

Snappy and of course some of the

Things I said which made her feel

Sad.

I’d also remember how she could

Be a random bitch and how sometimes

It seemed she wasn’t paying attention.

I’d recall her passive-aggressiveness

As well.

{

In some moments of thought this

Break-up felt like a blessing.

In others it didn’t seem right and

I should’ve taken a different stance.

{

Love be damned.

I miss her.

Love be damned.

My emotions are mixed like oil

Swirling in water.

{

Love be damned.

{

Love be blessed too

}

Filter to Word Up

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    You radiate positivity! Your energy uplifts everyone around you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.