Poets logo

The One

Winning Battles, Losing Wars

By Earl W. PearlPublished 24 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
3

Compared to me some have it all

But where love rises, love can fall

It’s often said life isn’t fair

But if one’s winning, who would care

I’ve loved and won, I’ve loved and lost

One weighs the risk but not the cost

How I was “loved”, unfortunate

One may forgive, just not forget

Our love began without a dime

So we lost traction, after time

The way we started wasn’t smart

It’s how you finish, not one’s start

I’ve battled love and fought a war

Love wounded me tho so much more

If morphine helps what bullets bust

What helps the one with broken trust

Since I have made a mockery of

My first two tries at finding love

Does one dare risk another chance

To navigate one’s third romance

love poems
3

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 21 days ago

    You have an amazing soul. I am so sorry for all the people who didn’t treat you as the treasure that you are.

  • This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

  • Mariann Carroll23 days ago

    Great message in this poem. I have done a little research on love and the ones that seem to last are the marriages based on having a good friendship

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.