Journal logo

My Summer Bucket List

we're so back, besties

By M. A. Mehan Published 10 days ago Updated 10 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
My Summer Bucket List
Photo by Vicko Mozara on Unsplash

Ah, summer. I have a deep love/hate relationship with this season, and this year, I'm determined to make it one I'll always remember.

When I was a teenager, I was so impatient to be the age I am now, so i could do the things I always wanted to do, and couldn't at the time. Have I? No. Do I regret that? Yes. Am I trying to heal my inner teen a little bit? Absolutely.

Now, here's the thing. I need YOU to hold me accountable. I dream big, but tend stumble on the execution. If I have people reminding me, it might actaully happen!

My 2024 Summer Bucket List:

1. Go to the beach. <- DONE! I spent a week in Folly Beach with my family and it was awesome to see the Atlantic for the first time in twenty years. I got so sunburned and brought home lots of pretty shells.

2. Dye my hair. After a disaster of a bleach-and-dye attempt right before my 16th birthday, I've only ever ventured into highlights, and that was a awhile ago now. I'm thinking full head, crazy color, something I've never been brave enough to do.

via pinterest
via pinterest

3. Dance workouts. I HATE working out. I LOVE dancing.

4. Learn to make colorful, healthy meals. I'm talking VSCO-style acai bowls, summer salads, poke, tacos, ramen spicy enough to melt my face off. Maybe I'll share recipes?

By Rebecca Hansen on Unsplash

5. Ice skate.

6. Go on a pottery painting date with a friend.

7. Buy and use sparkly eyeshadow. A staple of my look in the '10s. I think it's overdue for a revival.

8. Attend my first concert(s). I'm taking my brother to one of his favorite bands in July, and then in August my favorite group is playing a few towns over.

9. Learn how to grill.

10. Learn how to change my car's tires and oil. Nothing boosts my confidence like learning a practical life skill.

11. Get pedicures with crazy colors.

12. Buy a paddleboard. Despite living in the desert I get a lot of opportunity to paddleboard, and I want to be able to do it solo as well!

By makenzie cooper on Unsplash

13. Treat myself. Remember those days of begging mom for a McFlurry in the back of her van? No more! I'm in the drivers seat now, and I'm stopping for a sweet treat.

14. Crochet a cardigan. I love crochet, but I'm always making stuff for other people. It's time for a self-indulgent project.

15. Write a book. Or, to clarify, finish the first draft of one of my many, many WIPS. I've laid the groundwork for several, now it's a matter of sitting my butt down and WRITING.

16. Love my friends and family fiercely. I haven't been there for people like I should. Depression has stolen a so much time that could've been spent with the people I adore, and that is going to change. I can't bring that time back, but I can make the most of what's in front of me now.

17. Pursue my faith. Read my Bible, pray, surround myself with like-minded people.

18. Read the guilty pleasure books. Dumb-looking fantasy that's been sitting on my TBR for 5+ years? No longer!

19. Binge the silly shows. Vampire Diaries. Once Upon a Time. Brooklyn Nine-Nine. All the shows I didn't have a streaming service for at 15.

20. Take myself to the movies.

21. Skydive

By Muzammil Soorma on Unsplash

22. Make friendship bracelets

23. Get another piercing.

24. Hike in the White Mountains. A gorgeous place I've never visited.

25. Sing in the car at the top of my lungs to music I used to love. Still have every word memorized.

26. Visit 3 new coffee shops. And if they have stickers, add them to my laptop sticker collection.

27. DM a Dungeons and Dragons one-shot. Been a player for almost 2 years now, and I want to see what it's like on the other side of the screen!

By Timothy Dykes on Unsplash

28. Make smores.

29. Play card games around a bonfire

30. Ride a horse.

By Taylor Brandon on Unsplash

31. Sidewalk chalk drawings.

32. Do the things that will build my cool aunt lore. (Can't have my niece and nephew thinking I'm boring, now can I?)

33. Stay true to myself. Remember what I've seen has made me who I am, and not wish it away for the sake of memories that could have been.

There. Now I just have to do all those things ':D Here's to summer!

list

About the Creator

M. A. Mehan

"It simply isn't an adventure worth telling if there aren't any dragons." ~ J. R. R. Tolkien

storyteller // vampire // drink goblin // arizona desert rat

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Dr. Jason Benskina day ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Darkos8 days ago

    Amazing Love it Wish You Great Fun with all on the list to experience and discover ! Congratulations on Top story 🩷🌞🌷❤️☺️!

  • Pawan Shukla8 days ago

    Good morning, I'm excited to introduce Revsyntech's exceptional website development and digital marketing services, tailored to your specific needs. As the best digital marketing company in Noida, we deliver results-driven strategies. We also provide top-notch website development services, recognized as the Best Website Development Services. Additionally, we offer the best revenue cycle management software and are renowned as a leading Software Development Company. For more information, contact me at [email protected] or 0120-4310475. Best regards, Pawan Shukla Revsyntech Pvt. Ltd.

  • Talia Devora8 days ago

    These all look like awesome summer activity ideas! I hope you get to do all of them!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 days ago

    So much on your list I want to do myself. Especially # 6, 15 and 25. I can skip dyeing my hair by default since I don't have much, lol. Such an inspiring read. Take lots of pictures!!! And congrats on your TS.

  • TahimaAni9 days ago

    nice

  • angela hepworth9 days ago

    All of these sound great!!! I’m so ready for summer!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 days ago

    A good list...and I like the blue hair!

  • Andrea Corwin 10 days ago

    That is one LONG list!! I loved your story. Horses are fun (but can be cray-cray and dangerous); colorful highlights in hair (purple, blue whatever a stylist says your hair will do); great for you on the healthy cooking; pedicures, yes, sometimes I have them alternate colors on the toes. Skydiving? Whew, scary. Good luck with you list!!

M. A. Mehan Written by M. A. Mehan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.