Poets logo

A Chat with Hope

a thing with feathers

By M. A. Mehan Published 7 days ago Updated 5 days ago 1 min read
A Chat with Hope
Photo by Nico Frey on Unsplash

“Oh little bird, where have you been?”

“To see the world and back again.”

“What did you see in the world so wide?”

“The sun and moon, and mount and tide.”

“Why did you wander the world so vast?”

“To find in it my place at last.”

“Where is your place, what did you find?”

“I found more birds of my own kind.”

“Of your own kind, what do you mean?”

“First, let me tell you what I’ve seen.”

“What did you see on gentle wings?”

“I saw all men from beggars to kings.”

“All men indeed, from dirt to throne?”

“All men who think they walk alone.”

“Aren’t they alone, in their own mind?”

“If that they think, then they are blind.”

“Why are they blind? What do they miss?”

“They miss my friends, and more than this.”

“Your friends? Your kind? Oh what are you?”

“E’en I did not know before I flew.”

“Enlighten me, my friend so small.”

“My name is Hope, and though I’m small, I will withstand the storm and squall.”

“You? Hope? My constant friend?”

“I’ve seen you through every twist and bend.”

“And those, your friends? Your own dear kind?”

“Hope- every one on wing I did find.”

“So there is no man who lonely strays?”

“If they but look up, they would not dismay.”

“You’re always there, in darkest days?”

“Even in darkness, when your courage frays.”

“Hope, my friend, my constant guide!”

“I’ll always be with you, just look deep inside.”

inspirationalFriendshipchildrens poetry

About the Creator

M. A. Mehan

"It simply isn't an adventure worth telling if there aren't any dragons." ~ J. R. R. Tolkien

storyteller // vampire // drink goblin // arizona desert rat

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Shirley Belk4 days ago

    Beautiful and comforting!

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    This is wonderful. I love that it could be read to a child, but has such important wisdom for us all to take on board, young and old. The flow is impeccable and the rhymes are great! Well done, very well done. Subscribed to you!

  • very good

  • Author's note: uploaded this during a layover with sketchy wifi, hopefully everything's loaded and formatted ok!

M. A. Mehan Written by M. A. Mehan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.