Poets logo

Andromeda's Tale

entry 2 for Randy Baker's Prompted #5

By M. A. Mehan Published 28 days ago Updated 27 days ago 2 min read
Andromeda's Tale
Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

I dreamt often of escaping,

New worlds my heart's true aim,

To find the quietude of nowhere,

Where the stars have learned my name.

/

Leaving clouds and seas behind me,

I went slicing into space.

Far from home’s tranquil isolation

Where I always knew my place.

/

I loved navigating new horizons

Where night reigns cold, steadfast.

But my heart was quietly asking,

How long can solace last?

/

For beneath my wander’s spirit,

As I explore galaxies like unknown water,

I knew my call is to help others.

I am still my family’s daughter.

/

I used suffering as my compass,

Guided ‘cross a great expanse.

Bringing light and hope to people,

Where others would not take the chance.

/

Carving out a glorious story,

Reckoning time in new destinations,

Passing like dusk over planets uncharted.

Catching sight of wild, strange constellations.

/

As I aided these microcosms,

My impact felt miniscule.

Then came the marking moment,

Where life took on a darker hue.

/

We took a job too big for us,

Like waves we forged ahead,

I lost my only friend that day,

And with him my heart went dead.

/

Heralding the end of an era,

But to go home felt like treason.

I could not leave this life behind,

I just needed rhyme and reason.

/

I found an open spot aboard

A sleepy industrial station

And days glide past without a wake

And I played doctor with little vexation.

/

Yesterday marks the end of that peace,

The whisps of rumor becoming screams

And I am thrust into my next adventure

With new fears, new tools, new team.

/

The canvas of this chapter,

Is still empty and unfilled.

I think I’ll like this little family,

Though in charm they’re still unskilled.

/

We’re off to face down evil,

And as far as I can see,

Even as my heart burns like the sun,

I am breathing.

I am free.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whew! I think that's all of the words provided! Here's the list below:

Ahead, Beneath, Canvas, Carving, Catching, Charm, Clouds, Compass, Days, Dead, Destinations, Dusk, Embrace, End, Escaping, Expanse, Free, Glides, Glorious, Guided, Heralding, Home, Horizon, Hue, Isolation, Leaving, Light, Marking, Marks, Microcosm, Minuscule, Moment, Navigating, Night , Nowhere, Open, Passing, Peace, Quietly, Quietude, Reckoning, Rhyme, Sea, Sight, Slicing, Solace, Spot, Stars, Steadfast, Sun, Tranquil, Time, Tools, Uncharted, Unknown, Wake, Water, Waves, Wild, Whisps, World, Yesterday

Check out the challenge and other entries here

My first entry here

Not only is this an entry for Randy Baker's challenge, it is also an introduction to my second D&D character Andromeda "Andi" - a healer in my friend's space themed campaign! She is so different from my other character, Rue, and it's been fun getting to know her more quiet and steady personality.

Thanks for reading!

For FunBallad

About the Creator

M. A. Mehan

"It simply isn't an adventure worth telling if there aren't any dragons." ~ J. R. R. Tolkien

storyteller // vampire // drink goblin // arizona desert rat

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨17 days ago

    Wow. This really felt like you have narrated my story …. ! It feels very unique and there are so many lovely lines throughout. Well done with this entry 🌟

  • Novel Allen24 days ago

    You told a whole story with those words. Hoping loss and hard work really will be worth it in the end. Sad and triumphant story.

M. A. Mehan Written by M. A. Mehan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.