Poets logo

The Mountain and the Wind

Whispers of Love

By Cindy CalderPublished 15 days ago 2 min read

Who goes there, masked by the cloak of darkness?

It is I, the wind, come to find what has been lost.

What is it you do seek herein my deepest recesses?

The essence of emotion left upon the heart, embossed.

.

Perchance, is it hate of which you speak and seek?

No, ‘tis something innately inherent, a tale beyond folklore.

My friend, describe what you seek in greater, vivid detail.

One clue: it is the epitome of life, enveloping one to the core.

.

So, ‘tis not hate of which you speak, for it, too, quickly invades.

Though they’re both blades of one sword, what I seek surpasses still.

You give me pause, here in the moonlight, to ponder and reflect.

If you wish to know, look within what moves the heart’s strong will.

.

Amidst the silence, I think I hear its echo carried on your wings.

I seek much more than a mere echo hidden in your valleys herein.

Step closer, listen for what you seek; its lingering, remorseful cry.

I’ll tread with care, ‘lest it throws us catalytically into a tailspin.

.

Do you hear it? The sound of flowers on my mountainside?

They're beckoning us follow in the hollow light of the moon’s glow.

I hear the sound as it all grows anew, amidst trees and weeds.

Oh joy! I’ve found love, despite having vanished so long ago.

.

Wind, my dear and oldest friend, you should have asked me thus.

Asked what? That you lead me to love that’s long evaded me?

Indeed, for I shelter much within my lush foliage and growth.

If I had only known, I would have come much sooner with my need.

.

Love, my friend, must be watered each day and night.

Therefore, I’ll seek the rain, so love will never be without.

I fear ‘twill need attention most devout despite the rain.

Tell me secrets you hold and prevent a hindrance or a drought.

.

“Tis no secret for love divine: it must be spread to sprout and grow.

Then I’ll teach loosening it within one’s grasp to bestow it all around.

Now you speak the language that only he who truly loves can know.

I think I’ve a newfound desire to ensure love surrounds and abounds.

.

With this wisdom I impart, I close my eyes to rest before the dawn's light.

Thank you, my sturdy, steadfast friend, for wisdom and insight.

It is no chore but a monumental task for which I was designed.

I’ll fly now and whisper all about a fresh song to herald love’s new light.

nature poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    The weight and magnificence of the mountains comes through, as does the wispy wandering nature of wind. The exchange between them is touching and heartfelt.

  • Whoaaaa, this was so profound and uplifting! Loved your poem!

  • Joe Patterson15 days ago

    Very emotion evoking.

Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.