Poets logo

Crunch

My Toy Dinosaur

By Cindy CalderPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read

When I was young and playful

I had a playmate named Crunch

My toy dinosaur was ferocious,

And I loved him a whole bunch.

.

He’d eat anything I gave him

He wasn’t the least bit picky

Cookies, apples, or peanut butter -

Not a thing he ate made him sickly.

.

I took him everywhere I went

On trips, to the store or in the yard

He was such an agreeable sort of chap

Erect, he stood just like the Queen’s guard.

.

Crunch fought many a war with all my toys

And always came out on top - with a loud roar

He could trample Simba, Barney, or GI Joe

Without resorting to being a carnivore.

.

Each night, he’d rest beside me

To make sure the room was safe and sound

Keeping close watch, he'd guard my back,

My room, the house, outside and all around.

.

To this day, Crunch is alive and well

And so much more than just a toy to me

For he now guards my son each night and day

Proudly earning a spot on the family tree.

For FunFamilychildrens poetry

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • J. R. Loweabout a month ago

    This is so wholesome 🥹

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Awww, I'm so happy that Crunch is still around. Loved your poem!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    I can relate.

Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.