Poets logo

The Monster

Who killed my home

By Morgan BergerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I walked in the door

The scents so familiar

The sounds all the same

If the lights were a bit dimmer

But the life, it was gone

Like a candle’s last flicker

And the memories became ghosts

In dying embers

This house had been home

The resting place of my heart

But then the monster came in

And tore everything apart

That man who dared

To call himself father

Who hurt me and hurt mine

Trapped and tormented my mother

Until finally that day

The day after Thanksgiving

We gave thanks we were free

To finally start living

And breathing comes easier

Now that we’re safe

But all that was left behind

Still makes my heart ache

The place I grew up

The trees that I climbed

The neighbors I knew

My sister’s garden that died

And my two little cats

Who love me so well

Who sit in my lap

And purr when I’m ill

It hurts to see

The place I called home

Empty and lost

And so very alone

And the monster that dwells there

Guarding the door

Chases away the soft ghosts

With his thunderous roar

And he takes my young sisters

When the judge says it’s time

And no matter where we go

We’re still tied to his line

And this new house is…new

Kind of scary and old

And I wonder how long

It will take to call home

But I rest in the peace

Of the freedom I found

And the safety in not having

That monster around

My mother is safe

My siblings as well

Maybe battered and broken

But you never could tell

Because finally we’re free

We’re safe and we’re happy

And the laughter that reigns

Will build us new memories

And one day my heart

Won’t still feel so cold

As I heal each day

And am not alone

Yes, despite moving locations

And the loss of the known

Life will go on

My heart will find home

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.