Poets logo

Unfinished

It’s Probably Best

By Morgan BergerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Unfinished
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

It's probably best that we're enstranged

It's surely best we never meet

But sometimes sleep evades me

And I lie here counting sheep

I used to count my blessings, dear

You were the greatest one

It's like living in the shadows

Waiting for the sun

And I'm learning every day

I am better off without you

You don't know how much it hurt me

When I found that to be true

And though we're not together

It is likely for the better

Because we know I'd take you back

The very second you would offer

Our futures are entwined no more

Though it doesn't stop my wishing

I still regret the bonds you broke

And the calls you kept on missing

For I know a thing can hurt you

As long as it remains loved

And ceasing to love you, my dear,

Is still a thought too strong

But the hope begins to wither,

Dreams start to diminish,

The pen is set to rest

And the poem is left

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.