Poets logo

The Lights Went Out

Yet What She Gained

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
The Lights Went Out
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

A typical. Day,

driving out of town.

Although the snow

was coming to the ground.

Boom, my car was hit; a

toe truck hit me hard.

It spun me around and around,

I was totally off guard.

I was hurt

but lucky to be alive.

Many who saw it

wondered how I survived.

After six weeks at home,

it all happened quickly.

The light went to darkness,

I felt rather sickly,

A brain injury

in the back of my head.

It gave me a sight impairment,

is what they said.

At first, fear

came over me.

But a sight mobility instructor

guided me.

To hear

the sounds I had never heard before.

Chirping birds,

music, voices, and so much more.

Then we grasped the ability

to touch and feel.

Anything from soft wool,

to a spinning wheel.

It was amazing

to live through life in a new way.

The way one touches,

or one may say.

I remember smelling; all

seemed too different to me.

Anything from food to

the air or flowers was so amazing.

The taste was the

one that was unique as could be.

Pears tasted like apples,

sugar was more like honey.

Yet through all of this,

I never forgot.

I gained some sight,

but even more, I was taught.

The ability

to learn new ways.

Of using my senses

and still enjoying my days.

Based on a true story that happened Feb 2, 2001. I still have a slight sight impairment but will never drive again. I am grateful to be alive and enjoy life to the fullest.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Cathy ~ Yes, It's time to really 'smell the roses.' Coincidence: I've just written a 'short' about my car-crash. I didn't know exactly how to tell it; but, you have inspired me to do so! Publishing it next week: "Wheelchair Etiquette ~ The View Looking UP!" Fellow "Writer" - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.