Poets logo

To Whom It May Concern

Be Humble - Be Kind

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
To Whom It May Concern
Photo by Christiann Koepke on Unsplash

I am writing this letter to you.

For I fear what the world will change into.

Already it is filled with too much greed and hate.

So we have to act fast and not wait.

I had a favourite shop not far from my home.

Often I would like to go and look and roam.

It changed so quickly and fast.

It will never be like the past.

A computerized floor machine almost knocked me down.

No one walking with it, and there was no one walking around.

It felt cold, like we were Robots just doing our thing.

No words, now customer service, you know, the unique things.

So as I was done shopping and got what I could.

I went to a cashier, "Now this I misunderstood."

I loved having a cashier ring in your things and chatting with you for a while.

They are telling you about their lives with the biggest smile.

Sadly I had to go to a machine and ring my items one by one.

Trust me this was not fun.

I have never returned to the store again.

It drove me insane.

For when I shop or where I go.

I long to be with others, for this, I know.

Computers are great in many a specific place.

Never a human will they replace.

Signed

A Sad And Lonely Online Shopper

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi-C ~ Ah, progress! Marketing day once was all about the 'Squeezin' for ripeness; can't replace that virtually! I always 'relate' to your work ~ Thank you for that! Ooh, Cathy, if you haven't done so, please view my 'FIRED' I know that you can relate to that one. - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.