Writers logo

A Bloody Review

My Thoughts on “A Bloody Business” By Stephen A Roddewig

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a month ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
Photo Take by Donna Fox - This is Stephen's actual book!!

Disclaimer: The following is a review of “A Bloody Business” By Stephen A. Roddewig. I will discuss potential spoilers within this book. If you plan to read this amazing novel and wish to avoid spoilers, then reader discretion is advised.

Otherwise, please read on so that I may entice you further!

 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

 

If you are at all familiar with Stephen A Roddewig, then I am sure you have read some of his amazing work, like the Dick Winchester series. Or even bits and pieces from A Bloody Business. Likely before, they were all assembled into this collection of stories that create this comedic, adventure-filled novel.

Here are the links to them:

Sinking Prospects - Awarded Runner-up in Ship of Dreams Challenge

Black Thursday

The Lindbergh Job

A View to Die For

The Rising Sun - Awarded Runner-up in the Improbable Paradise Challenge

Run for the Border

Down on Main Street

The Airlift

  

But, there’s something very different about reading these stories in black and white, in my hand! It’s also worth mentioning that although he has these chapters on Vocal, they aren’t the end-all-be-all for the novel.

I argue that the chapters he kept for exclusive print purposes are some of my favourites and really add to the overall collection.

 

What I love about A Bloody Business is that every chapter can stand as its own adventure but still connects so beautifully to the previous and subsequent chapters. 

A Bloody Business is a series of adventures centred around a young Englishman by the handle of Martin Williams. He comes to work for “The Firm”, after some unfortunate business involving gambling debts. But with nine fingers left, he agrees to start his life in this Bloody Business (see what I did there?) working for them.

In each chapter, “the firm” sends him on various missions to collect debts that are owed and “See that business is taken care of with all haste”, as they like to say. Throughout the adventures, Martin’s biggest worry is the safety of his whiskey and cigarettes, which adds an ironic sense of humour to all the paroles he overcomes and survives. Things like the Titanic sinking, being in the trenches during real war times, gun battles with police, encounters with other assassins and everything you can imagine that goes with it.

In one of my favourite missions, he meets a young lady named Tessa, a duchess from the royal family. As his affection for her continues to grow and she returns his feelings through several shared adventures, he considers a different life. Which, honestly, is a very satisfying end to the tales of Martin Williams. (For now, if you’ve read the novel, you’ll understand what I’m alluding to there.)

 

However, Stephen didn’t stop there. At the end of his book A Bloody Business, he included a bonus chapter for his upcoming novel, The Opening Salvo. Which follows the life of my most favourite character he’s ever created, Dick Winchester. Who, if you’re not familiar with, you need to get to know because that series promises to be a gut-busting thriller. If the chapters that are on Vocal are any indication.

So I’ll be on the lookout for that in September 2024!!!!

 

A Bloody Business is not in my usual genre that I would choose, which is what made it so surprising that I enjoyed it so thoroughly! I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves comedy, a little gore and some thrill.

So if you haven’t bought the book yet, I strongly recommend giving it a chance. Also, for the bonus of getting to support a fellow author and Vocalite in a dream many of us share!

Or, at the very least, please check out Stephen’s profile! I have no doubt that you fill find something that speaks to you!

 

Author’s Note:

Special thanks go to Stephen for suggesting a book swap, which introduced me to the world of Martin Williams. It was the best unexpected adventure I could have asked for!

 

Thank you so much to those of you who stuck around to read my review of A Bloody Business, which I’m sure no one asked for (but I know you all needed)!

 

- Donna Fox (HKB)

VocalShoutoutInspirationCommunity

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Stephen A. Roddewig29 days ago

    And another $5 in the bank. The good karma compounds 😤😤

  • Anna 29 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Love this

  • If this isn't an example of how paying it forward and generating good karma leads to your own personal reward in time, I don't know what is. So glad to see you getting a little compensation and exposure out of this amazing above-and-beyond-the-call-of-duty review. And thanks again for all your investment in this book and the upcoming Dick Winchester series! I strive to continue delivering kick-ass entertainment.

  • Dana Crandell30 days ago

    I'll be buying it, so I didn't read your review, but congratulations on Top Story, Donna!

  • Alexander McEvoy30 days ago

    Oh that is certainly enticing as a concept! Serialized noire-style action, mystery, and jokes? Interesting... I just might have to give it a look! Congrats on Top Story, Donna! This was an expertly crafted review :)

  • Neelanshimishra30 days ago

    Thankyou for providing such great content <a href="https://www.trucksbuses.com/pc/tata-ace-mini-trucks">chota hathi price/Tata ace</a>

  • Belleabout a month ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Bri Craigabout a month ago

    Big fan of Stephens, and so happy for him and this book! Lovely review!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Congrats, Donna! This was so nice of you to do. Stephen is on a mission and won't stop until the world hears (reads) him. I got my copy on the 11th and have started reading it. Can't wait to finish it. If anything, your review made me want to dive back into now.

  • Digital_FootPrintabout a month ago

    That's one heck of a book cover. I'm digging it.

  • Caroline Janeabout a month ago

    I love that you have written this review! I have not read Stephen's book yet but I intend to. This is ace.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Ah, what a fabulous review, Ms Foxxy HKB! For one of my favourite creator's published endeavours! It's on my list to buy and read and that was a given but your review sweetens it! So glad this got Top Story, for both of you!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Tessa made me remember Tesha from Joggers Trail! I'm so happy you enjoyed the story although it ain't your usual genre. That goes to show how good this story it. I immensely enjoyed your review!

  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout a month ago

    Incredibly grateful you took the time to read, and even more appreciate you took the time to share your thoughts at the end. Always an achievement in itself when someone enjoys something you wrote that lies far outside their usual genre. Also happy to know I have at least one person waiting for September 2024 😊 Just in case you ever feel like revisiting this book in audio format, I would happily set you up with a free promo code for Audible. Audible is even tougher to generate reviews on than Amazon's website, so it would be more than worth it if you listened in the future and submitted some form of your thoughts above. No pressure—just thought I'd offer! And if you'd like a preview, I've been lucky enough to work with Jonathan on all recorded story endeavors—podcast AND audiobook: https://open.spotify.com/episode/2I9qKhmGGhBBLfCQUcEcOg?si=2785121480964aaf

  • Donna Reneeabout a month ago

    Hey this is awesome! 😁 a great and tempting review!

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.