Poets logo

The Image

The ocean provides many things

By Barb DukemanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

What happened? What really happened?

We were like children-

We knew we shouldn't have been there.

It was just like a corny old movie,

Yet it seemed so real.

The smell of salt air surrounded us

And made my senses reel.

Your arm around me was like

A soldier picking up his little girl.

The waves breaking around our feet

Were a quietly cheering audience.

The breeze from their applause messed up

My hair (no one cared).

All those stars were there just for us -

No one else.

And although the night had fallen

(And was quite dark),

We still found that starfish and returned him home.

Further along the way, I picked up a shell

Which wasn't all that pretty:

It was missing half of itself,

And was full of barnacle holes.

Colorless, it had been bleached by

Endless days in the sun and water.

But that didn't matter.

I picked up the shell and held it tight in my hand.

The next thing I knew I was home.

Alone.

I want to know - was it real?

I look over to my window,

Hoping to the find the truth,

And between the early rays of dawn,

I caught a glimpse of the shell.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Barb Dukeman

After 32 years of teaching high school English, I've started writing again and loving every minute of it. I enjoy bringing ideas to life and the concept of leaving behind a legacy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.