Poets logo

The Grace of Silence

Once abhorred, now appreciated

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 months ago 1 min read
11
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She struggles with the incomprehensible silence,

After gifting you with life, love and support,

The distance is monumental and no bridge can now be crossed,

A once loving relationship effortlessly cut short.

**

Your narcissism has expanded to fill the void,

Thrown down in the gauntlet of pride instead,

The deafening silence of dreams and wishes,

Resulting in a heart and soul that bled.

**

Minutes turn to hours, to days, to months,

But unbeknown to you, time is no longer on your side,

Regret will be your mainstream future to come,

And I’ll be living life within my stride.

**

I’ve no guilt to carry as I did my best,

The choice was yours to rue the day,

I’ll survive — you should have realised that,

Because I’ve lived this lie, what can I say?

**

I was always aware you were never really mine,

You were loaned to me in my time of need,

A thorn in my side, set to trial and test me,

Teaching me how it feels to constantly bleed.

**

My duty was done with every ounce of my being,

I gave my all — which is how you almost destroyed me,

Would I do it again, if ever given the chance?

Yes, absolutely, but I’d protect myself to a better degree.

**

Sadly, I’ve come to love the silence and appreciate the distance,

Allowing the bulk of my life’s complications to drift into the past,

Simplicity adorns the smile that now graces my face,

And you, have become the side gig, the inherent outcast.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

inspirationalsad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
11

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Omggg, this was soooo relatable! I especially loved this stanza: I was always aware you were never really mine, You were loaned to me in my time of need, A thorn in my side, set to trial and test me, Teaching me how it feels to constantly bleed. Loved your poem so much! You've been missing for quite some time. Are you already on the road?

  • Have you figured out the vehicle yet? How long before you pick up the Caravan?

  • Joe Patterson2 months ago

    Strikes more chords than you realize. Outstanding

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    This really got me. I want to buy your book! Gotta earn some money 💰 writing as I am on disability now. This really is an important piece to share. XX

  • Natalie Wilkinson2 months ago

    finding strength

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Sad, yet so beautifully written.

  • YES, I HAVE YOUR BOOK. SO VERY NICE TO MEET YOU COLLEEN

  • I relate to your poem. I have been in several narcissistic relationships as an empath. I might I have your book in my library. I will check. If it is not there, I will purchase your book.

  • Skyler Saunders2 months ago

    All of the anguish and quiet torment that this poem conveys also contains, quiet grace and truth.

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Beautiful and thought provoking work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.