Poets logo

A Day to Rifle Through My Memories

Reliving the good times

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 months ago 1 min read
9
Image courtesy of Pixabay

My mind wanders to those days long in the past,

Days when I’d wake up and my first thought was of you,

I treasure those memories and they get me through some tough times,

And often wonder if you ever remember them too.

**

Do you remember the importance of that magical place?

With its pristine white sand and turquoise blue sea,

A coconut palm leaning precariously,

And do you remember that first kiss that was so monumental to me?

**

That first night’s swim in the ocean of darkness,

The gift of warmth you passed my way,

Soft words whispered under the light of the moon,

I’ll always remember the words you did say.

**

Your face lives on in my heart and my mind,

And I scurry through the memories that you honoured me through,

I wallow in each precious remembrance, slowly savouring,

And I’ll never regret the love we shared true.

**

One day stands out that’ll always bring me joy,

I was so ecstatically happy like never before,

And sadly to say I’ve never experienced such happiness again,

But for one precious day, it was the day I adore.

**

I’d like to send my appreciation back across the years,

A wave of gratitude for the happiness you gave me,

Sure there were plenty of tears and pain thrown in the mix,

But enough time has passed to remember, to let the good and bad be.

**

As today is the world’s celebration of love,

My mind wanders to the past, to the memories we made,

And there were many that gave us great joy,

So thank you my love, you may be lost but my memories have stayed.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

Gratitudelove poems
9

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    achingly beautiful piece. Well done, my friend.

  • Sometimes, memories are the only things we have left of a person. Loved your poem my friend!

  • I grieve with you, my friend, for the loss of such love. My heart goes out to you & my prayers are with you.

  • Skyler Saunders2 months ago

    This is aching and gorgeous and shows depth of soul. I love the idea of speaking while swimming in the ocean at night. This is excellence in poetry. I will share.

  • Jazzy 2 months ago

    yes to all of this, allowing ourselves to learn and be grateful for past lovers. "And often wonder if you ever remember them too." this line gave me chills as I remember lovers of before and wonder if they think of me too

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.