Poets logo

The Good Part

The part where I choose joy amidst the chaos

By Amanda Moore-KarimPublished about a year ago 1 min read

Hyper focused on ascension

Spiritual awareness playing in a constant loop

The part where it gets ugly and raw and exposed

Though it’s evident that empowerment

will lead me to the Promised Land

But when I get there, the creativity stops,

the vocals settle,

the expression begins to fade

But then I think of you, the Black woman that inspires me,

and I wonder if you ever wanted to hear about the good part.

The part where my stomach feels looser

and the tears dry up

and the grasp around my neck finally sets me free

What about the good part?

Where the hair rinse

With aromas of sage and rosemary

rolls down the coils of my mane

and the nubs of my fingers

rub against colorful fibers

as I braid my hair

and smile at myself in the mirror.

What about the good part?

When I enter the world again

boldly and prideful

When I’m elated for the journey I just embarked on

When the surety of who I am

radiates from my Black skin.

What about the good part?

When I witness other beautiful Black people

dancing to the beat of joy

And I witness their white smiles

and their belting laughter

And I witness the brown skinned couple

kissing in the corner

because they’re so happy to find love

Where’s the good part?

Where I find gratitude in the space I’m in

When I choose joy amidst of chaos

When I love on me on purpose.

I think it’s time to write about The Good Part.

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Amanda Moore-Karim

My name is Amanda Moore-Karim, an interdisciplinary artist specializing in wardrobe styling and creative writing devoting my work to Black feminist discourse.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amanda Moore-KarimWritten by Amanda Moore-Karim

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.