Poets logo

soulless love

the other end of my notepad.

By Amanda Moore-KarimPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read

months of solitude and rediscovery

honing in on what matters most to

the woman in the mirror, so eager to refine love

and anticipatory to share it with someone

spontaneity led me here

drunken nights, falling in love in clubs

but serendipity led us here

and the unconventionality wouldn't leave me afraid

*

loving on you felt like

power vinyasa at 7am,

the scent of penetrated soil,

soothing vocals as I play in the shower,

saltwater and sun rays kissing the skin,

fruit-infused spring water,

a small dog walking fast,

a new leaf forming on the inching plant

*

loving on you felt

audacious and foolish,

tenacious and loud,

proud and bold,

persistent, revolutionary

raw and exposed

*

but loving on you

made me realize

the other end was soulless,

unrequited and scared

leaving me grooving to the beat of fulfillment

in the midst of autonomy

*

and as i write on the other end of my notepad

exhaling from the soulless love we shared

I find gratitude

in knowing that loving on you

made me feel hopeful and accepting

of myself

of the purity of my big heart

of loving on purpose

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Amanda Moore-Karim

My name is Amanda Moore-Karim, an interdisciplinary artist specializing in wardrobe styling and creative writing devoting my work to Black feminist discourse.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amanda Moore-KarimWritten by Amanda Moore-Karim

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.