Poets logo

The Fairest of Them All

An Ode to My Ordinary but Closest Friend.

By KatheleenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
The Fairest of Them All
Photo by Jeanne Rouillard on Unsplash

My dear friend,

I do not talk about you

Too often,

But you are on my mind

Everyday,

Especially before I sleep

And when I wake.

I was skeptical at first,

When I saw you,

Unsure of who else had been around you.

But

Since then,

You have always had my back.

In fact, you are

Always there for me,

Many times a day.

Whenever I need to let things go

You sit with me

And never rush me,

No,

Not you,

My loyal companion.

You stay with me,

Sitting quietly,

Waiting,

Your silent comfort

Allowing for release and relief.

And I am able to

Unload all I've held within me

To you;

I could do it to no one else.

We could all use someone like you.

You pass no judgement,

Even when others need you,

You never discriminate

Against age, race, size, religion.

You are an example of purity.

Maybe more of us should try to be like you;

Accept all and be there

When they need to release.

And with your own tears

You wash away the bad for me,

Yet you don't boast,

You don't gloat,

And never complain.

You are still in your greatness.

With your fine porcelain skin,

My dear toilet,

There is no one else

I want to fall back on.

love poemshumor

About the Creator

Katheleen

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Abigail Penhallegon11 months ago

    Never have I heard a toilet described so beautifully. The idea of having this friend who accepts what you need to release without rushing you, washing it away with their own tears…it’s so lovely, but also HILARIOUS given context. Very nice. Thanks for the smile. :)

KatheleenWritten by Katheleen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.