Poets logo

Tales of Torment: A Fatal Scale

Comparison is always called the thief of all joy. What an incredibly fitting title. ...

By Josh MorganPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Tales of Torment: A Fatal Scale
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

the scale i weigh myself on,

is proving to be fatal

yet here i stand,

by imaginary competition's demand-

what i say to myself,

and what hatred's mirror yells to my face

have never been the same-

i belong to the mask on my face

like an imposter playing a game charades,

i have a thousand names,

but am identified by the number of accolades on my shelf

and can't help but fixate on that of others

my joy rests in comparison's grave-

bathed in insecurities,

flowers of fear grow from what the falling rain says to me

i'm left chasing the wind in the same how night chases the day

perfection's curse, has never been tamed

anything less can only be shamed

i know that's not the case,

but the dust in the trophy case shows something else

my worth is no less than anyone else,

but the the empty shelf says something else

comparison, is a fatal scale, yet here i am-

i want to agree with love's library,

but the vocabulary of hatred's mirror tells me something else

i know love isn't performance based,

but the imaginary stage displays something else

here i stand, in hatred's mirror

to perfection's wish,

from rejection's prophecy,

under anxiety's supervision,

and competition's demand

stranded, on this fatal scale

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryMental Health

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.