Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The edge of Insanity

The only villain here is me.

By Alyce WillowPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
Credits- Fundamentally flawed on deviant art

I admire the negativity of my jailer

She has a smile on her face

Showing me razor sharp teeth

She looks just like me, only cruller.

I know exactly how to leave this cell

I’m just not ready to yet

I know i'll be better for it,

It’ll be the start of my repairs

It will keep my skin scab free.

But my jailer keeps me going.

I desire the lunacy of it all

It pulls me like a magnet

Dragging me deeper into insanity.

I can’t look the other way, my eyes are glued to her smile.

Happiness hurts my soul.

The mundane of being a hero kills me.

The idea of being my savior makes me queasy,

Uncertainty lives on the other side of those bars,

The only guarantee being honesty

I like lying, I am happy here,

I walk right into my jailers arms

Remaining in this prison,

Prevailing as the only villain of my story

Mental HealthFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Alyce Willow

Hello, I am a young journalist and poet. I have dedicated the last few years to honing my writing skills and have found joy in using words to express my thoughts and emotions. Thank you for taking the time to read about my hyperfixations.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • shanmuga priya10 days ago

    You have shared deeply personal and thought-provoking poem, which encourages us all to confront and understand our own inner struggles......

  • Andrea Corwin 10 days ago

    What a sad poem sounding like the person is not in jail, but in a mental ward and wants to stay.

Alyce WillowWritten by Alyce Willow

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.