Poets logo

The Diary of an Emo Latina (uncensored)

Counting Stars of February

By Natasha CollazoPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
16
The Diary of an Emo Latina (uncensored)
Photo by atiyeh fathi on Unsplash

I count the stars of February!

Alas, they align within my reach.

*

I can dunk my head in sea water,

my tears as salty as the beach.

*

My mother has shelter.

And my father is sober.

My niece is turning seven.

*

The complexities of love unravel off my pen

*

The boy that broke my heart

got friend zoned by the girl “he didn’t like”

Read that part again.

*

Taking her on the exact first date he took me to,

I wonder if at all, there was a little bit of

Déjà vu.

*

Exposing all of his unrighteousness,

since he blasted mine before.

One of the stars that aligned, was that

karma is a savage whore.

*

In the words of T-Swift,

"Karma is the cat

purring on my lap 'cause it loves me"

*

Ay yai yai, Cariño,

isn’t it so?

Karma is the poetry I write

to vandalize your ego.

*

Was it ever really fate?

A gringo who uses Spanish as

bait.

*

Before calling her Cariña, learn how to say

“Boricua”

*

I know I’ll have to repent,

filling my belly with immediate regret

regardless of your disrespect,

*

*

If charming Cupids rose garden

gave me any last glimmer of you,

I martyred it right here.

*

*

I guess Roses are dead,

And Violets are blue.

Felt salty, might delete

*

*****************************************

Authors Note:

A different approach to an entry to Daphsams Valentine prompt: I went with the first prompt generating: Charming Cupids Rose Garden, which unapologetically, inspired this poem. 🤌🏽🔥

See the link below if you want to play along

Mental Healthlove poemsHolidayheartbreakBlackout
16

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU **

Project: The diary of an emo Latina

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Love the part about deja vu

  • That was awesome! I love themes of karma in any poem or story, it have a satisfactory feel. Really enjoyed the way you told this. Great stuff!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    That was awesome, I’m so happy that my prompt was able to spin you into this direction. Well done! 👏👏👏👏❤️

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Ok, wow! This is so cleverly written and is so powerful in its resolve - I love that you can feel the emotion coming off the page. Also, what an awesome title!! 💗

  • Well done - another great work!

  • I'm a hugeeeee Swiftie and I loveeeeeed that you referenced Karma here! I also love that you referenced Olivia Rodrigo's Dejavu! In short, I freaking loved this poem so much! Don't delete it!!!! Pleaseeee!!!!

  • Don't you dare delete this post, Natasha! I absolutely love it! Friend-zoned after taking her to the same place he took you for a first date! Priceless!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.